Australian Grand Prix


Max Verstappen-300
Sergio Perez+450
Fernando Alonso+900
Charles Leclerc   +1600
Lewis Hamilton   +2200
Carlos Sainz    +3300
George Russell   +4000
Lance Stroll  +7500
Esteban Ocon+25000
Pierre Gasly+25000
Lando Norris +50000
Oscar Piastri+50000
Kevin Magnussen+50000

The Australian Grand Prix is one of the most historic racing competitions in Australia. Despite having moved frequently – a total of 23 different times – the Australian GP remains a staple in Formula One.

This race, typically held early in the season, is scheduled to be a part of F1 until at least 2035. As of 2022, Michael Schumacher holds the modern record with four wins in this course – all in Albert Park.

Race Information

The race is over.
Be sure to check the current F1 standings.
  • Course: Albert Park Circuit, Melbourne
  • Location: Albert Park, Australian
  • Course Length: 3.280 miles (5.278 kilometers)
  • Distance: 58 laps, 190.216 miles (306.124 kilometers)
  • Date: Thursday 30 March – 01 April

Circuit Information

Australian GP

The Albert Park Circuit is one of the bumpier Formula One tracks though it has recently undergone a resurfacing for the 2022 season. Despite the bumpiness, Lewis Hamilton managed to clock in a pole lap at an average of over 146 miles per hour. 

The course encloses a man-altered lake that used to be a large lagoon as part of the ancient Yarra River course. The track is not an easy one to use for overtaking. We saw what happened with Ralf Schumacher back in 2002. But it also contributes to the parity on this course as only two drivers, Vettel and Jensen Button, have won consecutive races here. 

As such, bettors looking to play the chalk on this grand prix should do so cautiously. As of 2022, Max Verstappen himself has not won here. 

Finally, the track changed the COVID-19 pandemic. The most notable was a modification of turns 9-10 from a heavy right-left corner to a fast-sweeping right-left corner into turns 11 and 12. More modifications are expected on the course.

Australian GP

2023 Schedule

Current F1 Standings- 2023 Season

2022 Australian GP Results
Free Practice 1Friday 8 Apr 2022Carlos Sainz
Free Practice 2Friday 8 Apr 2022Charles Leclerc
Free Practice 3Saturday 9 Apr 2022Lando Norris
QualifyingSaturday 9 Apr 2022Charles Leclerc
RaceSunday 10 Apr 2022Charles Leclerc

History of the Australian Grand Prix

The Australian GP has been around since 1928 though it did not become a part of F1 until 1985. Lex Davison won the most races, winning four times in eight years. 

During these 57 years before being a Formula 1 grand prix, the Australian Grand Prix was held in a new location almost every year. It started in Philip Island until it moved to Victor Harbor in 1937 after a year off. Then it kept switching locations until Calder in 1980. 

When it became a part of F1, the Australian GP was held in Adelaide for a decade. Brazilian legend Ayrton Senna began making a name for himself in this course. Driving for Lotus in 1985, the young Senna outclassed everyone during qualifying as his lowly Lotus bested the likes of Williams, McLaren and Ferrari by a wide margin. Though he did not win the subsequent race, he would win the next one in 1986.

In 1996, the Australian GP moved to Albert Park for good. Damon Hill won the first F1 race here as the season opener. He started the season first in the F1 standings, a spot he would not concede as he won the championship by a margin of 21 points. 

And while McLaren dominated in the early editions of the Australian GP, it would be Ferrari that would go on to hold the record for most wins with 13. This is mostly thanks to Michael Schumacher who won four races. Sebastian Vettel won a pair with the constructor in the late 2010s and Charles Leclerc most recently won in 2022. 

Speaking of Schumacher, his brother, Ralf, owns perhaps the most memorable moment on the course. But it wasn’t because he won. The Williams BMW driver launched his car into the air after ramming Ferrari’s Rubens Barrichello in the first lap’s first corner in 2002. Eight cars were caught in this accident and a total of 14 drivers retired from this race altogether.

F1 Australian Grand Prix FAQs

Who has wan the most races but Australian GP?

Michael Schumacher is the most successful driver with four Australian GP victories.

Which edition of the Australian GP will be held in 2023?

The 85th running of the Australian GP will take place this 2023.

How many turns is the Albert Park circuit where the Australian GP will be held?

There are 58 laps of the circuit covering a distance of 307.574 km.

How can I bet in F1?

Our team specialized in sports betting markets guarantees you the most competitive F1 forecasts in the market.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks