Bahrain Grand Prix

The Bahrain Grand Prix takes place at the Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain. Formula 1 first held the Bahrain Grand Prix in 2004 and was the first Formula 1 Grand Prix to be held in the Middle East.

It’s been on the calendar every year since except in 2011. The wide, fast, sweeping track has plenty of room for passing, and it has been held at night since 2014.

Race Information

The race is over.
Be sure to check the current F1 standings.
  • Course: Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain
  • Course Length: 3.362 miles (5.412 kilometers)
  • Distance: 57 laps, 191.530 miles (308.238 kilometers)
  • Date: Sunday, 2023 March 5, 9:00 

Circuit Information

Bahrain Logo

The Bahrain International Circuit is 3.363 miles in length with 15 corners. It’s a wide track with different challenges. There are slow-, medium-, and high-speed corners and multiple long straights offering lots of places for overtaking. Though the race is held at night, the practice sessions are not, which makes setup difficult. Wind is often a factor in the race as well.

The current F1 lap record is 1:31.447 set by Pedro de la Rosa in the 2005 Bahrain Grand Prix. The circuit’s seating capacity is 70,000.

Bahrain GP

2023 Schedule

Current F1 Standings- 2022 Season

2022 Bahrain GP Results
Free Practice 1

Pierre Gasly

Free Practice 2Max Verstappen
Free Practice 3Max Verstappen
Qualifying 2022

Charles Leclerc

Race 2022Charles Leclerc

History of the Bahrain Grand Prix

The Bahrain Grand Prix is a relatively new addition to the Formula One calendar, having first been held in 2004. The race takes place at the Bahrain International Circuit, which is located in the desert outside of the country’s capital city of Manama. The circuit is known for its long straights, tight corners, and challenging layout, which makes it a favorite among drivers and fans alike.

The Bahrain Grand Prix was the first Formula One race to be held in the Middle East. It was seen as a major milestone for the region, which has traditionally been a minor player in the world of motorsports. The race was also seen as a way for Bahrain to showcase its modern infrastructure and to promote tourism and economic development.

Since its inception, the Bahrain Grand Prix has been marked by a number of controversies and incidents. In 2011, the race was canceled due to political unrest in the country, which saw widespread protests and a crackdown by the government. In 2012, the race went ahead despite calls for it to be canceled due to ongoing human rights violations in the country.

The Bahrain Grand Prix has also seen its fair share of on-track drama over the years. In 2014, Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton and his teammate Nico Rosberg had a heated battle for the lead, which ended in a collision that took them both out of the race. In 2019, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc held off a late charge from Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas to claim his first ever Formula One victory.

Despite these controversies and incidents, the Bahrain Grand Prix remains a popular and well-attended event on the Formula One calendar. The race has been won by some of the sport’s greatest drivers, including Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, and Sebastian Vettel. The Bahrain International Circuit has also hosted a number of other racing events over the years, including the 24 Hours of Bahrain endurance race.

Looking to the future, there are plans to expand the Bahrain International Circuit in order to accommodate more fans and to host a wider variety of racing events. The country is also looking to promote itself as a hub for motorsports in the Middle East with the aim of attracting more international events and investment. As such, the Bahrain Grand Prix looks set to remain a fixture on the Formula One calendar for many years to come.

Follow us on Twitter

Bahrain Grand Prix FAQs

Who won the first Bahrain Grand Prix?

Michael Schumacher won the inaugural Bahrain Grand Prix in 2004.

Why was there no Bahrain Grand Prix in 2011?

Bahraini protests in the spring of 2011 led to the race being canceled.

Who’s won the most Bahrain Grand Prix races?

Lewis Hamilton has a record five Bahrain Grand Prix wins.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks