Brazil national football team logo

World Cup Participation

1930, 1934, 1938, 1950, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018, 2022


1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002

Brazil National Football Team History

The first ever Brazil national football team was made up of players from São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. They defeated English club Exeter City 2-0 in their inaugural match in 1914. In their early years, Brazil struggled but they picked up their first trophy in the 1919 South American Championships.

Brazil national football team were one of 13 teams to participate in the first ever World Cup in 1930 but were eliminated in the group stage. The Selecao first rose to prominence in 1950 when they hosted the World Cup and made the four-team final round. Needing a win in their last match vs. Uruguay, Brazil disappointingly fell 2-1 sending shockwaves throughout the nation.

The iconic yellow kit was introduced ahead of the 1954 World Cup, partially to forget 1950’s disappointment, but Brazil fell in the quarterfinals. Pele made his national team debut in 1957 and he played a huge role in Brazil’s first ever World Cup win, at Sweden 1958. With a 5-2 win over Sweden in the final, Brazil national football team became the first team to win a World Cup outside of their own continent.

FIFA World Cup - Betting News

Brazil National Football Team Records

The best player in the world at the time, Pele was injured during the 1962 World Cup. However, Garrincha stepped up to the plate as Brazil’s leader and helped them win a second straight title. After a disappointing performance in 1966, Pele returned for his final World Cup and led Brazil to their third title at Mexico 1970. A flair-filled Brazil team won every single one of their games and Jairzinho became the only player to score in every World Cup match.

After Pele and other legends retired, Brazil went 24 years without making the FIFA World Cup final. That changed in 1994 as a more defensive-minded side won the tournament in the USA, after Italy’s Roberto Baggio skied his penalty in the final PK shootout. There was only an eight-year wait this time for glory as a Brazil team headlined by Ronaldo, Rivaldo and Ronaldinho guided the Selecao to their record fifth trophy at South Korea 2002. 

Brazil national football team haven’t won a FIFA World Cup since but they’ve often found success in the FIFA Confederations Cup and Copa America. They’ve also had world class players like Kaka, Neymar, Dani Alves and Thiago Silva come through the ranks since then.

Check out the latest FIFA World Cup news and betting analysis.

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks