Detroit Grand Prix

Race Information

The race is over. Be sure to check the current IndyCar standings.
  • Course: Detroit Street Circuit, Detroit, Michigan, USA
  • Course Length: 1.700 miles (2.736 kilometers)
  • Distance: 100 Laps, 170 miles (273.600 kilometers)
  • Date: June 2nd, 2024
  • 2023 Winner: Alex Palou

🏆 Detroit GP Odds

The Detroit Grand Prix is the seventh race of the 2023 IndyCar season and takes place on the Detroit Street Circuit in Detroit, Michigan. Though it went through an on-again, off-again period on the IndyCar calendar for years, it’s become a staple over the last decade following the Indianapolis 500. The lower-speed, twisting nature of the circuit provides a challenge for the drivers.

IndyCar Odds
Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports+400
Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing+550
Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing+700
William ByronHendrick Motorsports+850
Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing+1000
Kyle BuschKyle Busch Motorsports+1000
Ross ChastainTrackhouse+1000
Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas Racing+1000
Erik JonesLegacy Motor Club+1000
Joey LoganoTeam Penske+1200

IndyCar Schedule

NTT IndyCar Series:

  • 3:00 p.m. ET – Practice 1

NTT IndyCar Series:

  • 9:10 p.m. ET – Practice 2
  • 12:15 p.m. ET – Qualifications/Round 1 Group 1
  • 12:40 p.m. ET – Qualifications – Round 1 Group 2
  • 1:05 p.m. ET – Qualifications – Round 2
  • 1:30 p.m. ET – Qualifications – Firestone Fast 6

NTT IndyCar Series:

  • 12:30 p.m. ET – Race
IndyCar Results
1Scott DixonChip Ganassi
2Alex PalouChip Ganassi
3Will PowerTeam Penske
4Pato O’WardArrow McLaren
5Alexander RossiArrow McLaren
6Kyle KirkwoodAndretti Global
7Colton HertaAndretti Global
8Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske
9Felix RosenqvistMeyer Shank
10Josef NewgardenTeam Penske

🏁 Detroit GP History & Highlights

The Detroit Grand Prix first joined the IndyCar calendar in 1989. In the prior seven years, it’d served as a round for the Formula 1 world championship. The first iteration of the Detroit Grand Prix was a grueling, 18-turn course that was one of the slowest on the Formula 1 calendar. Due to the summer heat, the surface was uneven and stressful for both cars and drivers. More than half of the drivers often retire due to mechanical failures or mistakes that put their cars in the wall.

When IndyCar took over the event in 1989, a small change was made by eliminating the chicane along the front straight. Brazilian Emerson Fittipaldi won the first IndyCar race at the downtown Renaissance Center area that year during his championship season. Champion Michael Andretti won it in 1990, and Fittipaldi retook the top step in 1991.

Starting in 1992, the course moved to Belle Isle, a change many in Formula 1 had been calling for. The new circuit was shorter, with fewer turns but was immediately criticized by drivers for being narrow, slow, and lacking opportunities for passing. But unlike the priorcourse, it was much smoother. Three-time champion Bobby Rahal won the first race at the new circuit.

The race remained at the Belle Isle circuit through 2001 but with some changes. The layout changed in 1998 to eliminate a series of corners and allow for a competitive passing area. By 2001, complaints from drivers and fans over the deteriorating track conditions and lack of access came to a head. IndyCar (still CART at the time) did not renew a contract with Belle Isle after the 2001 race.

That changed in a few years. After the success of Super Bowl XL in Detroit, organizers saw an opportunity to bring the race back starting in 2007. The Belle Isle circuit was widened and revitalized. A park-and-ride system made it easier for fans to get to the island as well. Crowds were big at that 2007 race, and the event returned in 2008. But that ended due to the Great Recession, and IndyCar events in Detroit went on hiatus through 2011.

The event was revived once again in 2012 but as a doubleheader. There were two separate races on Saturday and Sunday, each with full championship points. It stayed this way through the event’s cancellation in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The doubleheader format returned in 2021 but was dropped for the 2022 race.

Starting in 2023, the circuit returned to the downtown Detroit area. The all-new circuit layout has nine turns along the 1.7-mile design and provides longer, wider straights for competitive racing. Organizers took lessons from the Nashville Street Circuit when deciding the new format.

Three drivers are tied with the most Detroit Grand Prix wins with three each: Brazilian Hélio Castroneves, six-time champion Scott Dixon of New Zealand, and two-time champion Will Power of Australia.


Circuit Information

The Detroit Grand Prix is set to return to Downtown Detroit from May 31st to June 2nd, with the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix leading the way.

This event will offer three days of activities and races on a new 1.645-mile, nine-turn street circuit along Jefferson Avenue, Bates Street, Atwater Street, St. Antoine, Franklin Street, and Rivard.

IndyCar Detroit GP FAQs

When was the first Detroit Grand Prix?

The first IndyCar Detroit Grand Prix was held in 1989.

Who’s won the most Detroit Grand Prix races?

Hélio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, and Will Power have each won three races.

How many layouts has the Detroit Grand Prix used?

Four: the original Renaissance Center layout (1989-1991), Belle Isle (1992-1997), Belle Isle with changes (1998-2001, 2012-2019, 2021-2022), and the newest layout at the Renaissance Center again (2023).

Back to top button



Monday, July 22, 2024
Monday, July 22, 2024
Tuesday, July 23, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can




Robot_subscription sombras
Subscribe to get
Thank you for subscribing subscribed_icon