Indianapolis GP

Indycar banner

The IndyCar GMR Grand Prix is the fifth race of the 2023 NTT IndyCar Season. It’s the first of three IndyCar races held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana and one of two to use the combined road course at the historic track. It was first held in 2014 as a lead-in to the Indianapolis 500 and has remained on the calendar ever since.

Race Information

The race is over.
Be sure to check the current IndyCar standings.
  • Course: Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, Speedway, Indiana, USA
  • Date: May 13
  • Course Length: 2.439 miles (3.925 kilometers)
  • Distance: 75 Laps, 182.925 miles (294.389 kilometers)

Circuit Information

The IndyCar GMR Grand Prix is held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course. The 14-turn circuit uses portions of the speedway’s turns 1 and 2 in addition to the infield complex. The mix of road course and speedway provides great viewing for spectators and challenges for drivers.

Two-time champion Josef Newgarden set the IndyCar record for the fastest lap with a time of 1:09.3888 in the 2017 IndyCar Grand Prix.

Grand Prix Of Indianapolis Schedule

History of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix

From 2000 to 2007, Indianapolis Motor Speedway organizers held Formula One races using the infield road course. It was later used for Grand Am and Moto GP racing.

IndyCar occasionally used the road course for testing purposes, as many teams have headquarters near the track. In 2012, organizers commissioned an evaluation of the business and discussed holding an IndyCar race on the road course as well as the historic oval.

An IndyCar feasibility test was held in 2013 and had positive results. A road course race was subsequently announced for the 2014 IndyCar season.

Ahead of its first race in May 2014, the road course was repaved and modified to be more competitive. It used much of the motorcycle course and the “Snake Pit” infield complex.

The inaugural IndyCar GMR Grand Prix, called the Grand Prix of Indianapolis at the time, was held two weeks before the Indianapolis 500. Twenty-sixteen champion Simon Pagneaud won that first race in 2014. The race is held on a Saturday because the Sunday two weeks before the Indianapolis 500 is typically Mother’s Day.

Angie’s List took over title sponsorship in 2015 and 2016. Either Pagneaud or two-time champion Will Power won the first six editions of the race.

In the COVID-19 pandemic-affected 2020 season, there were three total races at the road course: a July race and a double-header in October. The GMR Grand Prix moved back to early May in 2021 and the later race became the Gallagher Grand Prix held during the summer.

Colton Herta won the 2022 IndyCar GMR Grand Prix for Andretti Autosport. Power and Pagenaud are tied for the most wins at the GMR Grand Prix with three each.

Follow us on Twitter


IndyCar GMR Grand Prix FAQs

When was the first IndyCar GMR Grand Prix?

The first GMR Grand Prix was held in 2014.

Why is the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix on a Saturday?

Holding it on Saturday avoids conflicts with Mother’s Day.

Who’s won the most IndyCar GMR Grand Prix races?

Two-time champion Will Power and 2016 champion Simon Pagneaud are tied with three wins each.
Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks