Terriers Highlights

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Patriot League (2013-present)
Past Conferences: Yankee, America East
City: Boston
Stadium: Case Gym, Agganis Arena

NCAA Tournaments: 7 (1959, 1983, 1988, 1990, 1997, 2002, 2011)
National Championships: None
Conference Tournament Titles: 7 (1983, 1988, 1990, 1997, 2002, 2011, 2020)
Conference Regular Season Titles: 8 (1980, 1983, 1990, 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2014)

Team History

The Boston University Terriers are a Division I program located in Massachusetts. Boston University, which left the America East Conference for the Patriot League in 2013, is coached by Joe Jones.

The Terriers have been to the NCAA Tournament seven times, though not since 2011. They were poised to return in 2020 as the Patriot League Tournament champion. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic interrupted those plans, and the NCAAs were ultimately canceled.

The only other time the Terriers won the Patriot League was in 2014, when they went 15-3 in conference play and 24-11 overall to claim the regular season title. However, the Terriers had to settle for a National Invitational Tournament bid after dropping the Patriot League final to American.

In the America East, BU experienced more regular success. The Terriers won seven regular season championships and six tournament titles between 1980 and 2011. They made six appearances in the Big Dance during that span, losing each time in the opening round.

BU is 2-7 all-time in the NCAA Tournament, with both victories coming during an Elite Eight run in 1959. It has lost all six of its NIT appearances. The program has also made two trips apiece to the College Basketball Invitational and CollegeInsider.com Tournament.

Jones, a former Boston College assistant, has been at the helm since 2011-12, and trails only Dennis Wolff (1995-09) for program wins. He won at least 18 games in five of his first 11 seasons. The program’s previous coaches include Rick Pitino and Mike Jarvis.

In 2021-22, Jones guided BU to a 22-13 mark and an appearance in the CBI quarterfinals. The Terriers headed into this year a popular choice among oddsmakers, as they were picked second in the Patriot League preseason poll.

All-Time Records

Points Scored
o Tunji Awojobi: 2,308
o John Holland: 2,212
o Drederick Irving: 1,931

o Tunji Awojobi: 1,237
o James Garvin: 935
o Sukhmail Mathon: 875

o Jeff Timberlake: 778
o Shawn Teague: 600
o Levar Folk: 519


What is Boston University’s overall record in the NCAA Tournament?
The Terriers are 2-7 all-time in the NCAA Tournament. Both wins came during their first appearance in 1959 when they beat UConn and Navy before falling in the Elite Eight to West Virginia, 86-82. At the time, the tournament involved only 23 schools.

Who is the winningest coach in Boston University history?
That’d be Dennis Wolff, who won 247 games from 1995-09. Under Wolff’s watch, the Terriers won five regular season titles, two conference tournament titles and appeared twice in the NCAA Tournament.

Who holds Boston University’s single-season scoring record?
John Holland scored 673 points during the 2009-10 campaign, surpassing the previous record of 658 set by Tunji Awojobi in 1995-96. Holland was a three-time First Team All-America East Conference honoree.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks