Murray State Racers

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Missouri Valley (2022-present)
Past Conferences: Ohio Valley
City: Murray, Ky.
Stadium: CFSB Center

NCAA Tournaments: 18 (1964, 1969, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2012, 2018, 2019, 2022)
National Championships: None
Conference Tournament Titles: 18 (1951, 1964, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2012, 2018, 2019, 2022)
Conference Regular Season Titles: 28 (1951, 1964, 1968, 1969, 1980, 1982, 1983, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2022)

Team History

The Murray State Racers are a Division I program based in Murray, Ky. Murray State joined the Missouri Valley Conference in 2022 following a 74-year stint in the Ohio Valley Conference.

Adding not only Murray State, but also fellow OVC school Belmont was a boon for the MVC. Murray State has consistently been one of the country’s top mid-majors and has a history of producing pro talent. The Racers have had 25 players selected in the NBA Draft, including Cameron Payne, who was selected 14th overall by the Oklahoma City Thunder in 2015, and Ja Morant, who went second overall to the Memphis Grizzlies in 2019.

Additionally, Murray State has been to the NCAA Tournament 18 times, advancing past the opening round on seven occasions. The most recent instance came in 2022, when the Racers won 31 games and beat No. 10 seed San Francisco in overtime, before losing to tournament Cinderella St. Peter’s, a 15 seed.

The Racers won 28 regular season titles in the OVC, including 12 of 13 between 1988-00. In their final season as a member, they went 18-0 in league play.

Perhaps most remarkably, the Racers have finished .500 or better in 34 of the last 35 seasons. Altogether, they’ve won 20 or more games 32 times and at least 30 three times.

Morant, one of the program’s most celebrated players, became the 14th — and most recent — Racer to collect All-American honors in 2019. The electrifying point guard was the first player to average at least 20 points and 10 assists per game since the NCAA began tracking assists in 1983-84. As part of his record-breaking season, Morant notched a rare triple-double in a victory over Marquette to tip off the NCAA Tournament. He holds the program’s career assists record with 532.

Murray State’s postseason history also includes eight National Invitational Tournament appearances and a Tournament title in 2014.

Steve Prohm was named the school’s head coach before the 2022-23 season, returning to the same role he held from 2011-15. Prohm won two OVC regular season titles during his first stint with Murray State, before leaving for Iowa State. He was replaced by Matt McMahon, who is now at LSU.

Despite its strong track record, the odds were stacked against Murray State entering the MVC, as the Racers were ranked eighth in the league’s preseason poll.

All-Time Records

Points Scored
o Jeff Martin: 2,484
o Isaac Spencer: 2,248
o Marcus Brown: 2,230

o Popeye Jones: 1,374
o Dick Cunningham: 1,292
o Jim Jennings: 1,128

o Ja Morant: 532
o Don Mann: 531
o Lamont Sleets: 458


Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks