Demons Highlights

General Information

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Southland Conference
Past Conferences: Trans America Athletic Conference, Gulf Star Conference, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association, Louisiana Intercollegiate Conference
City: Natchitoches, Louisiana
Arena: Prather Coliseum
NCAA Tournaments: 3 (2001, 2006, 2013)


National Championships: 0
Conference Titles: 2 (2005, 2006)

Team History

Northwestern State’s first basketball team appeared in 1912-13 when the university was called the Louisiana State Normal School. In 1928, Northwestern State joined the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association and left for the Louisiana Intercollegiate Conference, when it formed in 1939. The Demons remained there until the conference disbanded in 1947 and joined the Gulf States Conference.

The Demons made their only appearance in the NAIA Tournament in 1974 and jumped up to Division I for the 1976-77 season. The Demons were inconsistent during the early years, which has been a bit of a tradition for the team. Northwestern State qualified for its first-ever NCAA Tournament under coach Mike McConathy in 2001 but two years later were 6-21. In 2005-06, the Demons returned to the NCAA Tournament and stunned No. 3 seed Iowa 64-63 in the first round before falling to West Virginia in the second round.

In 2006-07, the Demons slid to 17-15 and remained home in the postseason and then suffered three straight losing seasons. Northwestern State got things sorted out and returned to the NCAA Tournament in 2013; they then played in the CIT in 2015. That was the last time the Demons posted a winning record.

Northwestern State Demons All-Time Records

Points Scored

Zeek Woodley, 2,033
Billy Reynolds, 2,009
James Wyatt, 1,874


James Wyatt, 1,549
Billy Reynolds,1,150
William Mosley, 1,118


Jalan West, 652
Ryan Bundy, 552
Roman Banks, 515

Northwestern State Demons FAQs

Why Is Northwestern State Called the Demons?

According to the Northwestern State website, the name was decided by a contest open to all students and carried a grand prize of $10. School President V. L. Roy appointed a committee to narrow down the names of teams submitted by the students. The students chose the Demons over the Braves and on November 8th, 1922, by proclamation of President Roy and Coach H. Lee Prather, all athletic teams became known as the Demons.

Have Any Northwestern State Players Played in the NBA?

The Demons have had two players play in a regular season game, with John McConathy playing 11 games for the Milwaukee Hawks in the 1951-52 season and Trey Gilder appearing in two games for the 2009-10 Memphis Grizzlies.

What Is the Largest Margin of Victory for Northwestern State?

On Jan. 20, 1992, the Demons hosted LeTourneau on what would be a record-setting night for Northwestern State. The Demons won the game 140-51, setting records for the most number of points scored in a game, the largest margin of victory and the most field goals made in a game with 55 and the most field goals attempted with 105.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks