Beavers Highlights

NCAA Division: Division I

Conference: Pac-12

Past Conferences:  Pac-10, Pac-8, AAWU, PCC, Ind

City: Corvallis, Oregon

Stadium: Gill Coliseum

NCAA Tournaments: 1947, 1949, 1955, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1975, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 2016, 2021



         National Championships: 0

       Conference Titles: 4


Team History

 The Oregon State Beavers men’s basketball team was established in the 1901-1902 season. There have been some years that have been amazing for this program, as well as some they would rather forget.

 While searching for their identity in the Pacific Coast Conference, the Beavers went through many ups and downs. Things would come into shape towards the end, since the PCC eventually disbanded. The 1947, 1949, and 1955 seasons would result in Elite 8 finishes and one Final Four finish; the school seemed to be heading in the right direction.

 The Beavers would become an independent program once again after the conference disbanded. Nothing was guaranteed as the school looked to get back on track with Slats Gill calling the shots. There were high odds during the 1962 and 1963 seasons and it resulted in an Elite 8 and Final Four run, respectively.

 Moving forward a few seasons, Oregon State’s 1980–81 men’s basketball season was arguably one of its best but most upsetting seasons. It was coached by Beaver legend Ralph Miller and was known as the Orange Express. During those three seasons, the Oregon State Beavers team stats displayed dominance by compiling a record of 77-11.

 Three NCAA Appearances Vacated

Unfortunately, sanctions would follow this team. Three NCAA appearances during that span would be vacated for several improper arrangements. During Gary Payton’s tenure at OSU, the Beavers made three NCAA tournament appearances and one NIT appearance; however, the school couldn’t make any major noise at the time. In 1996, he was inducted into the OSU Sports Hall of Fame.


Leading up to the present, the program has essentially stayed dormant until the 2016 season. Furthermore, the program achieved an unthinkable feat during the 2021 tournament run when they pulled an upset against UCLA in the Pac-12 championship game in an 83-79 victory.


After winning an automatic bid, the Beavers’ mission was to prove the doubters wrong. During their magical run, the Beavers would upset the fifth-seeded Tennessee Volunteers, fourth-seeded Oklahoma State Cowboys, and the eighth-seeded Loyola of Chicago Ramblers to reach the Elite 8.


The Houston Cougars were able to avoid a major upset as the Beavers’ second-half run wasn’t enough. Wayne Tinkle will be leading the charge once again in the 2022-23 season; however, the program will face some long NCAAB odds as they have a steep wall to climb to get a chance of reaching the tournament.


All-Time Records

  • Points Scored

    • Tres Tinkle 2,233

    • Gary Payton 2,172

    • Steve Johnson 2,035


  • Rebounds

    • Mel Counts 1,375

    • Tres Tinkle 882

    • A.C. Green 880


  • Assists

    • Gary Payton 938

    • George Tucker 525

    • Ethan Thompson 499


  • Steals

    • Gary Payton 321

    • Jared Cunningham 219

    • Ray Blume 205




  1. What Is the Highest Win Total in Program History?


The 1924-25 season showcased the highest win total; the team had a record of 29-8 as a member of the PCC.


  1. Who Is the Winningest Coach in Program History?


Slats Gill had a long 36-year tenure with the program. Under Gill, the Beavers accumulated 599 wins and 393 losses. No other has even come within 200 wins of the school’s record.


  1. Who Is the Greatest Player in Program History?

The Seattle SuperSonics selected Gary Payton with the second pick in the 1990 NBA Draft. His Hall of Fame career would span 17 years and include numerous accolades.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks