Toreros Highlights

General Information

Founded: 1955

Conference: West Coast Conference (WCC)

Arena: Jenny Craig Pavilion

City: San Diego, California

Championships and Titles

  • 2 Conference Tournament Championships
  • 2 Conference Regular Season Championships

San Diego Toreros Team History

The San Diego Toreros have competed only in the West Coast Conference beginning in 1979.  Despite a rough first season, the Toreros improved quickly and won its first conference regular season title in 1983-84.

Mike Whitmarsh, who led the Toreros’ team stats, finished as a runner-up for Conference Player of the Year. Jim Brovelli was named Conference Coach of the Year.

While the Toreros did not win in the NCAA Tournament in that season, it marked the beginning of the program’s rise to relevance. A few seasons later, the Toreros won another WCAC title and returned to March Madness. This time, the team went 13-1 in the conference, a mark still unmatched as of 2022.

The 80s Sans an NCAA Tournament Appearance

San Diego became a lucrative bet on the NCAAB odds during their successful seasons, which were few and far in between. After their 1986-87 season, the program remained competitive albeit without making an NCAA Tournament appearance.

The Toreros eventually returned to the NCAA Tournament in 2003 by winning its first-ever WCC Tournament. And a few years later in 2008, San Diego would hit a new high. Led by San Diego Toreros team stats leaders Brandon Johnson and Gyno Pomare, the team not only won another WCC Tournament title but also won its first game in March Madness.

This high point of the school’s basketball history was followed by a low point following the 2017-18 season. Then-coach Lamont Smith was accused of accepting a bribe as part of the 2019 college admissions bribery scandal.

Now, the Toreros are in the midst of a rebuild and have not fielded a winning team as of the start of the 2022-23 season.

All-Time San Diego Toreros Records

Points Scored

  • Johnny Dee: 2,046
  • Brandon Johnson: 1,790
  • Gyno Pomare: 1,725


  • Gyno Pomare: 864
  • Scott Thompson: 740
  • Ryan Williams: 653


  • Christopher Anderson: 757
  • Brandon Johnson: 525
  • David Fizdale: 465

San Diego Toreros FAQs

Is the University of San Diego a D1 Basketball Team?

San Diego’s men’s basketball team plays in the NCAA Division I beginning in the 1979-80 season. It has made four NCAA Tournament appearances as of 2022.

Who Is Diego Torero?

“Diego Torero,” inspired by Spanish bullfighters called “toreros,” became the University of San Diego’s moniker. In 2008, students voted for Diego Torero to be the official school mascot.

Does San Diego Have a Good College Basketball Team?

The Toreros have been to four NCAA Tournaments, the most recent in 2008 (as of 2022.) This program has also produced many NBA coaches, namely Mike Brown and David Fizdale.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks