NCAAB South Carolina Gamecocks

General Information

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Southeastern (2012-present)
Past Conferences: Big 12
City: Columbia, Mo.
Stadium: Mizzou Arena
NCAA Tournaments: 28 (1944, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2018, 2021)


National Championships: None
Conference Tournament Titles: 8 (1978, 1982, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 2009, 2012)
Conference Regular Season Titles: 15 (1918, 1920, 1921, 1922, 1930, 1939, 1940, 1976, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1990, 1994)

Team History

The Missouri Tigers are a Division I program based in Columbia, Mo. Missouri left the Big 12, a conference it had been associated with since 1907, for the Southeastern Conference in 2012. The addition of not only Missouri, but also Texas A&M expanded the SEC to 14 teams.

Missouri has a strong history on the hardwood. The Tigers have appeared in the NCAA Tournament 28 times, with five trips to the Elite Eight. They last advanced there in 2009, when they lost 82-75 to No. 1 seed UConn to finish 31-7.

The only other time the Tigers hit 30 wins was in 2012, when they won the Big 12 Tournament. However, that season ended prematurely. The Tigers were stunned 86-84 by Norfolk State in the NCAA Tournament, becoming the first No. 2 seed to fall to a No. 15 since 2001.

That marked the second of five straight first-round losses for the Tigers, who have not won an NCAA Tournament game since 2010. They last made the Big Dance in 2021, falling in the round of 64 to eighth-seeded Oklahoma.

Missouri also reached the Elite Eight in 1944, 1976, 1994 and 2002. Its overall NCAA Tournament record is 22-28, although its 1994 tournament run was vacated by the NCAA after a player, Jevon Crudup, was revealed to have received improper benefits from sports agents.

The Tigers won the Big 12 regular season title that season, then captured league tournament titles in 2009 and 2012. They have yet to win an SEC title.
Missouri is currently coached by Dennis Gates, the former two-time Horizon League Coach of the Year at Cleveland State. Gates replaced Cuonzo Martin prior to the 2022-23 season. While the Tigers were picked to finish 11th in the SEC preseason media poll, Gates and Co. were determined to overcome those odds, debuting at No. 20 in the AP Top 25 poll following a 17-6 start.
Prior to that, the last time the Tigers were ranked was in 2020-21. The Tigers cracked the Top 10 that season but sputtered down the stretch to a 16-10 finish (8-8 SEC play). Martin was fired after going 12-21 the following season.

Missouri’s postseason history also includes eight appearances in the National Invitational Tournament, where its overall record is 2-8. The Tigers’ most recent trip was in 2014, when they reached the second round.

Notably, Missouri has established a quality pipeline to the NBA, with an alumni base that includes Michael Porter Jr. and 2021 Sixth Man of the Year Jordan Clarkson. DeMarre Carroll, Keyon Dooling, Larry Drew, Anthony Peeler, Kareem Rush and Steve Stipanovich are among the other former Tigers to reach the NBA.

NCAAB South Carolina Gamecocks All Time Records

Points Scored

Derrick Chievous: 2,580
Doug Smith: 2,184
Anthony Peeler: 1,970


Arthur Johnson: 1,083
Doug Smith: 1,053
Steve Stipanovich: 984


Phil Pressey: 580
Anthony Peeler: 497
Melvin Booker: 488

NCAAB South Carolina Gamecocks FAQs

Who is the winningest coach in Missouri program history?

Norm Stewart won a program-record 634 games from 1968-99. No other coach has more than 194 wins. Stewart guided his alma mater to a combined 14 conference championships and 16 NCAA Tournament appearances. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007.

What is the winningest season in Missouri program history?

The 2008-09 Tigers won a school-record 31 games, capturing a Big 12 Tournament title in the process. They are the last team from the school to reach the Elite Eight.

Who holds Missouri’s single-season scoring record?

Derrick Chievous scored a school-record 821 points in 1986-87, earning Third Team All-American honors from the Associated Press. In 2019, Chievous’ No. 3 jersey was retired by the school.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button



NBA Finals
dallas mavericks
Dallas Mavericks
Boston Celtics
Boston Celtics
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Stanley Cup
edmonton oilers
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Florida Panthers
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks