NCAAB Stanford Cardinals

NCAA Division: Division I

Conference: Pac-12

Past Conferences: Pac-10, Pac-8, AAWU, PCC, Ind

City: Stanford, California

Stadium: Maples Pavilion

NCAA Tournaments: 1942, 1989, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2014



         National Championships: 1

       Conference Titles: 1


Team History

The Stanford Cardinals’ men’s basketball team began as an intercollegiate varsity program in the 1913-14 season. It wouldn’t take long until the school joined the Pacific Coast Conference. However, the program went through a major building period, since the team didn’t make any NCAA Tournaments for the next two decades.

The hard work finally paid off, and the odds were the highest during the 1942 season when the team amassed a record 28 wins and four losses. Everything was falling into place for coach Everett Dean and the squad; they secured their first and only NCAA championship.

In the following four decades, Stanford would suffer another tournament drought even though the school won eight conference titles as a member of the PCC. Things didn’t pick up again until the school joined the Pac-10. After a long dormant period, the Cardinals would punch their ticket in the 1988-89 season.

With Mike Montgomery in charge, hopes were high with the team winning 26 games. In the very first round, however, they fell to a lower-seeded Siena Saints team by one basket. The 1992 season would have the same outcome as the team was bounced in the first round by the Alabama Crimson Tide. There were slight improvements in the 1995 and 1996 seasons. The team would make it past the first round, but their road to the next round ended in the hands of the UMass Minutemen. In 1997, the team made it to the Sweet 16, but lost in overtime against the Utah Utes.


Ranked No. 4 in the Nation

In the 1997-98 season, the school was at another level, sporting a record of 30-5 and ranked as high as number four in the nation. Stanford Cardinals’ team stats showed a resilient team; it was evident that spirits were very high.


Stanford was able to run away with a close victory against the Rhode Island Rams in the Elite 8. In the Final Four, they were defeated by the Kentucky Wildcats in overtime, since all good things must come to an end.


The program would make it past the first round during the next two years but didn’t have a major run until 2001. This would be the last time the school ever made it to the Elite 8. During Mike Montgomery’s last few years as coach, the team continued to be successful to some degree.


During Trent Johnson’s four-year tenure, the school would make it to the tournament in 2007 and 2008. The year 2008 was Johnson’s best year; his squad made it to the Sweet 16.


Johnny Dawkins would lead the school to one more NCAA Tournament appearance in 2014 when reaching the Sweet 16. Since then, the school has made it to the NIT but has yet to qualify for the NCAA Tournament. As a member of the Pac-10, the school would win five conference titles.


Jerod Haase will be entering his fifth season as head coach but will face some long NCAAB odds.

All-Time Records

  • Points Scored

    • Chasson Randle 2,375

    • Todd Lichti 2,336

    • Adam Keefe 2,319


  • Rebounds

    • Adam Keefe 1,119

    • Tim Young, 1,070

    • Kimberly Belton 960


  • Assists

    • Brevin Knight 780

    • Mitch Johnson 534

    • Keith Ramee 513


  • Steals

    • Brevin Knight 298

    • Keith Ramee 199

    • Chasson Randle 167




  1. What Is the Highest Win Total in Program History?


The highest win total the Cardinals would register would take place during the 2000-01 season. The team was able to accumulate 31 wins and reach the Elite 8.


  1. Who Is the Winningest Coach in Program History?


Mike Montgomery would come just eight wins shy of reaching the 400-win milestone. No other coach has yet reached the 300-win milestone.


  1. Who Is the Greatest Player in Program History?

Brook Lopez is the greatest player in Cardinals’ history; he was selected 10th in the 2008 NBA Draft by the New Jersey Nets. He won an NBA championship with the Milwaukee Bucks and currently leads the league for the NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award (in terms of odds.) He is also the brother of Robin Lopez, who was selected in the same draft.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button



NBA Finals
dallas mavericks
Dallas Mavericks
Boston Celtics
Boston Celtics
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Stanley Cup
edmonton oilers
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Florida Panthers
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks