UT Arlington Mavericks

General Information

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: WAC (2022-present)
Past Conferences: Southland, Sun Belt
City: Arlington, Texas
Stadium: College Park Center

NCAA Tournaments: 1 (2008)


National Championships: None
Conference Tournament Titles: 1 (2008)
Conference Regular Season Titles: 3 (2004, 2012, 2017)

UT Arlington Mavericks Team History

The UT Arlington Mavericks are a Division I program located in Texas. UT Arlington, which rejoined the Western Athletic Conference in 2022 following a nine-year stint in the Sun Belt Conference, is coached by Greg Young.
UT Arlington’s lone NCAA Tournament appearance came in 2008, when it lost to top-seeded Memphis in the first round. The Mavericks also claimed their only Southland Conference Tournament championship that season and finished 21-12 overall.

The Mavericks went 24-9 in 2011-12 and captured the regular season title in their final year in the Southland. In doing so, they were invited to the National Invitational Tournament and lost in the first round to Washington. Following one season in the WAC, in which they won 19 games and participated in the Tournament, the Mavericks began play in the Sun Belt.

UT Arlington finished .500 or better in six of its nine seasons in the Sun Belt, including winning a program-record 27 games in 2016-17, in addition to a regular season championship. That year ended with an NIT quarterfinal loss to Cal State Bakersfield.

While the Mavericks won another 21 games the following season, athletic director Jim Baker made the stunning decision to fire Scott Cross, the most successful coach in program history, citing a need for new leadership. Cross, who had gone 225-161 with five postseason appearances over 12 seasons, was subsequently replaced by Chris Ogden. Ogden was there from 2018-21 before returning to his alma mater, Texas, in a basketball management role. His successor, Young, was previously an assistant with UT Arlington.

UT Arlington was one of two schools added by the WAC in 2022, along with Southern Utah (previously in the Big Sky Conference). The Mavericks faced long odds in their first season back, as they were ranked 11th in the WAC preseason coaches’ poll.

UT Arlington Mavericks All-Time Records

Points Scored

  • Willie Brand: 1,907
  • Kevin Hervey: 1,783
  • Erick Neal: 1,557


  • Kevin Hervey: 921
  • Mack Callier: 857
  • Brandon Edwards: 852


  • Erick Neal: 756
  • Ronell Peters: 650
  • Shaquille White-Miller: 455


UT Arlington Mavericks FAQs

What is the winningest season in UT Arlington history?

The 2017 Mavericks set a program record with 27 victories, including 14 in Sun Belt Conference play. The Mavericks secured a spot in the NIT, before losing in the quarterfinals to Cal State Bakersfield.

How many postseason appearances has UT Arlington made?

The Mavericks have been to the postseason six times, most recently in the 2017 NIT. They also made the NIT in 1981 and 2012, the NCAA Tournament in 2008 and the CIT in 2013 and 2016.

When did UT Arlington win its first conference championship?

The 2004 Mavericks went 11-5 in Southland Conference play to capture the regular season title.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button



NBA Finals
dallas mavericks
Dallas Mavericks
Boston Celtics
Boston Celtics
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Stanley Cup
edmonton oilers
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Florida Panthers
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks