Seahawks Highlights

General Information

  • NCAA Division: Division I
  • Conference: Colonial Athletic Association (1984-present)
  • City: Wilmington, N.C.
  • Stadium: Trask Coliseum


  • NCAA Tournaments: 6 (2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2016, 2017)
  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Tournament Titles: 6 (2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2016, 2017)
  • Conference Regular Season Titles: 9 (1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2022)

Past Conferences:

  • Independent

Team History

The UNC Wilmington Seahawks have competed in the Colonial Athletic Association since 1984. Before that, the Seahawks operated as a Division I independent. UNC Wilmington has been among the CAA’s most consistent programs over the last quarter-century, making six trips to the NCAA Tournament. The Seahawks have won nine regular-season CAA titles since 1997, including a share last season, and have captured the league tournament championship six times.

In 2002, UNCW took things a step further, overcoming long odds to beat USC in the first round of the NCAA Tournament as a No. 13 seed. The Seahawks went on to lose in the next round to Indiana. They also made the Big Dance in 2000, 2003, 2006, 2016, and 2017.

The Seahawks lost coach Kevin Keatts to NC State following that last tournament trip in 2017, but his predecessor, C.B. McGrath, lasted only 2 ½ seasons after failing to replicate Keatts’ success. Seeking stability, the Seahawks turned to a familiar face during their next ride on the coaching carousel. McGrath’s replacement, Takayo Siddle, had been an assistant at UNCW before following Keatts to NC State.

Better results soon followed. Siddle was tabbed CAA Coach of the Year last season, during which he led UNCW to a 27-9 record and a share of the regular season title with Towson. While the Seahawks ultimately fell short of returning to the NCAAs, losing to Delaware in the CAA Tournament final, a run to the College Basketball Invitational title provided some satisfaction for Siddle and Co.

All-Time Records

Points Scored

o Brett Blizzard: 2,144
o Brian Rowsom: 1,974
o Chad Tomko: 1,702


o Devontae Cacok: 1,263
o Keith Rendleman: 1,055
o Brian Rowsom: 1,015


o John Goldsberry: 530
o Chad Tomko: 481
o Jordan Talley: 479


Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks