Utah Tech Trailblazers

General Information

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Western Athletic Conference (2020-present)
Past Conferences: None
City: St. George, Utah
Stadium: Burns Arena

NCAA Tournaments: None


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Tournament Titles: None
  • Conference Regular Season Titles: None

Utah Tech Trailblazers Team History

The Utah Tech Trailblazers are a Division I school located in St. George, Utah. Before joining the Western Athletic Conference in 2020, Utah Tech competed at the Division II level.

At that time, the school was still known as Dixie State. But in 2022, the university underwent a rebrand after concerns arose over the inclusion of the word “Dixie” due to the word’s historical ties to the Confederacy and racism. The school had been nicknamed “The Rebels” for more than 50 years before it was changed to the Red Storm in 2009.

Utah Tech must complete a four-year reclassification process in accordance with its transition to Division I, meaning the school is not currently eligible for postseason play. During that time, the Trailblazers will also be ineligible to participate in WAC postseason competitions, although they are eligible to win regular season championships.

Coach Jon Judkins

Coached by Jon Judkins, the Trailblazers posted losing records their first two years in the WAC, going 8-13 in 2020-21 and 13-18 the following season. They were a combined 10-22 in conference play during that time. Based on that, the Trailblazers — picked to finish 12th in the 2022-23 WAC preseason coaches and media polls — faced long odds entering this season.

A longtime fixture of the school, Judkins played for Utah Tech (then known as Dixie State) from 1983-84 before transferring to Utah State. Judkins started coaching at Snow College, a community college located in Ephraim, Utah, in 1988, beginning as an assistant. In 1993, he was elevated to head coach and, over 12 seasons, posted a winning percentage just shy of .700.

He then carried that success over to Utah Tech. The school won six Pacific West Conference regular season titles and qualified for the Division II NCAA Tournament nine times between 2010-20. In 2011, the school reached the Sweet 16 and lost to BYU Hawaii, 79-73.

Utah Tech Trailblazers All-Time Records

Points Scored

  • Hunter Schofield: 731
  • Cameron Gooden: 633
  • Frank Staine: 472


  • Hunter Schofield: 318
  • Jacob Nichols: 207
  • Frank Staine: 197


  • Cameron Gooden: 179
  • Brock Gilbert: 129
  • Frank Staine: 89

Utah Tech Trailblazers FAQs

What is Utah Tech’s overall record in the NCAA Tournament?

Utah Tech has lost six straight first-round games in the Division II NCAA Tournament since making the Sweet 16 in 2011 and is 2-8 overall. It was scheduled to play in the 2020 tournament, which was later canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

What is Utah Tech’s most recent postseason win?

The Wolverines’ last postseason win came in the second round of the 2011 Division II NCAA Tournament, 75-73 over Seattle Pacific.

Has Utah Tech produced any NBA players?

It has, actually. Former first-round pick Marcus Banks, who began his career at Dixie State in 1999 before transferring to UNLV, is one of the most recent examples. Banks, a point guard, was drafted 13th overall in 2003 by the Memphis Grizzlies and spent close to a decade in the NBA. He averaged a career-high 12.0 points, 4.7 assists, and 1.2 steals per game for the Minnesota Timberwolves in 2005-06. Lionel Hollins and Keon Clark also had stints with the school.

Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks