Crimson Tide



Crimson Tide Highlights

General Information

  • Conference: Sec (1993)
  • NCAA Division: Division 1
  • City: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • Stadium: Bryant – Denny Stadium


  • National Championships: 23. (18 claimed, 5 unclaimed).
  • Conference Titles: 32
  • Divisional Championships: 16

Past Conferences:

  • Southern Conference (1921–1932).

Alabama Crimson Tide Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to Alabama Crimson Tide standings, updated college football injury reports and team stats.

All-Time Alabama Crimson Tide Stats & Records

Passing yards

  • A.J. McCarron: 9,019
  • John Parker Wilson: 7,924
  • Bryce Young: 7,692
  • Tua Tagovailoa: 7,442
  • Brodie Croyle: 6,382

Rushing yards

  • Najee Harris: 3,843
  • Derrick Henry: 3,591
  • Shaun Alexander: 3,565
  • Bobby Humphrey: 3,420
  • Kenneth Darby: 3,324

Receiving yards

  •  DeVonta Smith: 3,965
  •  Amari Cooper: 3,463
  •  D.J. Hall: 2,923
  •  Calvin Ridley: 2,781
  •  Jerry Jeudy: 2,742

Alabama Crimson Tide Football History

The University of Alabama football team began play in 1892. The Crimson Tide joined the Southern Conference in 1921. Soon after, in 1933, they joined the SEC under coach Frank Thomas.

Thomas held the job from 1931 until 1947. Thomas led the Tide to championships in 1934 and 1941. They also won the SEC four times under him. He finished with a 115–24–7 overall record and a 4-2 college football bowl record.

The year 1955 was historically bad for the Tide and they went winless. Fortunately for them, they never went winless again.

Legendary coach Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant became head coach in 1958. Bryant led the Tide to 13 double-digit win seasons under Bryant. The Tide won six National Championships, 13 SEC championships, and 12 bowl games under Bryant. The Tide was easily the most dominant team in the entire country during Bryant’s tenure. They went 232–46–9 with Bryant at the helm. Bryant is the eighth most winningest coach of all time. They also finished with a 12-10-2 bowl record.

80s Turning Point

The 80s were successful for the Tide under coach Ray Perkins and coach Bill Curry. Perkins led the Tide to a 3-0 bowl record and three winning seasons during his four-year tenure. He left Alabama to become the head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Curry also led the Tide to three winning seasons, including an SEC championship in 1989. Curry won SEC Coach of the Year that same year.

Gene Stallings became head coach of the Tide in 1990. Stallings brought a National Championship to the Tide in 1992 and a 5-1 bowl record. They finished with a 70–16–1 overall record under Stallings. He retired in 1996.

The late 90s and early 2000s were underwhelming by Alabama standards.

Nick Saban became the head coach in 2007. Saban has coached multiple All-Americans including Julio Jones, Derrick Henry Devonta Smith, Patrick Surtain II, and Bryce Young. Additionally, during his tenure, four players have won the Heisman Trophy. The Tide is 187-27 under Coach Saban.

They’ve won six National Championships and 10 SEC championships in his tenure. The first championship came in 2009 after they finished with a perfect 14-0 record and beat Texas A&M Aggies 37-21. He’s only had one losing season.

The Tide has made the College Football Playoffs almost every year since 2014. In the second year of the College Football playoffs, the Tide blew out Michigan State en route to the National Championship. They went on to play Clemson Tigers in an absolute thriller.

They topped the Tigers 45-40, and claimed their first National Championship in the College Football Playoffs era. They have an 8-3 playoff record and three championships. Saban is still the coach and the Tide are still contenders every year. The Tide have had 39 players get drafted in the first round of the NFL Draft and 106 players drafted in total under Saban.

The Tide have had over 300 players drafted into the NFL. They’ve also had three coaches they have over 200 career wins.

Alamaba Crimson Tide FAQs

What is the highest win total in Crimson Tide history?

The Crimson Tide won 14 games in 2009, 2015 and 2016. In 2009, they didn’t suffer a single loss. In 2015 and 2016, they lost one game I. each season. 2009 and 2015 ended with the Tide being crowned as National Champions.

What was the worst season in Crimson Tide history?

The 1955 season was notoriously bad for the Tide. They finished with a 0-10 overall record. It was the first and only time the Tide went winless. 1956 and 1957 were also pretty bad, as the Tide went 2-7 back to back.

How many bowl games has the Crimson Tide made?

The Tide has played in 75 total bowl games. They hold a 45-27-3 overall bowl record. In 2020 they won the Rose Bowl and in 2021 they won the Cotton Bowl. 
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks