NCAAF Coastal Carolina Chanticleers

NCAA Division: Division 1
Conference: Sun Belt
Past Conferences: Big South

City: Conway, South Carolina 

Stadium: Brooks Stadium

National Championships: 

Conference Titles: 8

Divisional Championships: 2


Team History

Coastal Carolina fielded its first team in 2003 under coach David Bennett. He coached the team from 2003-2011. The team had only two losing seasons under Bennett. It didn’t take Bennett long to get things moving at Coastal, since they won the Big South Championship in 2004, 2005 and 2006. They had a combined 26-6 overall record and an 11-1 conference record during that span. The year 2006 marked the first season the Chanticleers made the FCS playoffs. They went on to lose in the first round to App State. For the rest of Bennett’s tenure, the team finished around .500 each year except for his last season in 2011, where they went 7-4.  In 2010, they finished 6-6 but managed to win another Big South Championship, and lost in the first round of the playoffs again. 


Joe Moglia was hired as head coach in 2012. The Chanticleers were successful under Moglia. He led Coastal Carolina to at least eight wins in each of his four seasons. Additionally, they won the Big South each year in his first three seasons. They also made the playoffs in each of his four seasons while in the FCS. In 2016, they left the Big South and went independent before switching to the Sunbelt in 2018. In 2016, the Chanticleers saw 10 wins. Moglia finished out his career at Coastal after finishing with a 5-7 record. 


2020: Especially Historic Year

Jamey Chadwell has been the coach at Coastal Carolina since 2019. Except for his first season, Chadwell has led the Chanticleers to at least nine wins in each of his first four seasons. That 2020 year was especially historic for Coastal Carolina. They beat No. 21 Louisville. It was their first time beating a ranked team. The Chanticleers also beat No. 13 BYU later during the 2020 season. Coastal Carolina was ranked as high as #18 during the 2020 season. They won their first Sun Belt title and clinched their first bowl game. They followed up 2020 with a strong 2021 season. Behind quarterback Grayson McCall, the Chanticleers finished with an 11-2 overall record and got their first bowl win. 


All-Time Records (CFB)

  • Passing yards

    • Alex Ross: 9,918

    • Grayson McCall: 7,700

    • Tyler Thigpen: 6,598

    • Zach MacDowall: 6,360

    • Aramis Hillary: 4,546


  • Rushing yards

    • De’Angelo Henderson: 4,635

    • C. J. Marable: 2,691

    • Aundres Perkins: 2,343

    • Patrick Hall: 2,214

    • Lorenzo Taliaferro: 2,086

  • Receiving yards

    •  Jaivon Heiligh: 2,825

    •  Jerome Simpson: 2,720

    •  Matt Hazel: 2,553

    •  Bruce Mapp: 2,438

    •  Isaiah Likely: 2,050

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks