NCAAF UConn Huskies

General Information

  • Conference: Big 12 Conference (2012–present)
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Morgantown, West Virginia
  • Stadium: Milan Puskar Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 15 (1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1993, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011)
  • Divisional Championships: None
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 39

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1891–1924, 1928–1949, 1968–1990)
  • West Virginia Interscholastic Athletic Conference (1925–1927)
  • Southern Conference (1950–1967)
  • Big East (1991–2011)

West Virginia Mountaineers Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time West Virginia Mountaineers Stats & Records

Passing yards

  • Geno Smith: 11,662
  • Marc Bulger: 8,153
  • Will Grier: 7,354
  • Skyler Howard: 7,302
  • Jarret Doege: 6,453

Rushing yards

  • Avon Cobourne: 5,039
  • Pat White: 4,480
  • Noel Devine: 4,315
  • Amos Zereoue: 4,086
  • Steve Slaton: 3,923

Receiving yards

  • Tavon Austin: 3,413
  • Stedman Bailey: 3,218
  • David Saunders: 2,608
  • Shawn Foreman: 2,347
  • Khori Ivy: 2,313

West Virginia Mountaineers – NCAAF History

The West Virginia Mountaineers are a Division I FBS football team based in Morgantown, West Virginia. Initially founded in 1891, West Virginia has an overall record of 769–514–45. Its first game took place on a field that was converted from a cow pasture, where they lost 72-0 to Washington & Jefferson University. The turn of the 20th Century brought about moderate success for the West Virginia stats program, namely during the 1903 and 1905 seasons when WVU posted records of 7–1 and 8–1, respectively.

The Mountaineers enjoyed their first period of success during the 1920s, with Clarence Spears as their head coach, West Virginia compiled a 30–6–3 record with its best performance coming in the 1922 season, posting their only undefeated season in program history with 10 wins and one tie.

The Mountaineers continued their success under Spears in posting subsequent one-loss seasons in 1923 and 1924, going 7–1–1 and 8–1, respectively, with Spears departing the program to coach at the University of Minnesota thereafter. Ira Errett Rodgers replaced Spears and the Mountaineers continued their winning ways with a third consecutive one-loss season at 8-1. Outside of another eight-win season in 1937, West Virginia faced some adversity during most of the next two decades.

During the 1950s, the Mountaineers enjoyed winning football once again, this time under the direction of Art “Pappy” Lewis. West Virginia posted a winning season in 1952 at 7-2, their first in four years, and the next season started a string of three consecutive eight-win seasons and five straight Southern Conference championships in six years. While the 1953 team was ranked tenth overall in the AP Polls and earned a berth in the Sugar Bowl, losing to Georgia Tech in a 42-19 blowout, the 1954 squad was snubbed from a bowl game appearance despite yet another eight-win season.

Lewis resigned after the 1959 season and the Mountaineers wouldn’t win another conference title until the back-to-back stretch in 1964 and 1965, with the latter squad making it to the Liberty Bowl, dropping a 32-6 decision to Utah in that contest.

From the 1970s Decade On

The winning continued into the 1970s, with the end of the last decade seeing West Virginia go 10-1 and pick up a victory in the Peach Bowl over South Carolina, and then the Mountaineers hired future College Football Hall of Fame inductee Bobby Bowden to coach the program. Bowden would lead the Mountaineers to a 42-28 record over six seasons with a pair of Peach Bowl victories in 1972 and 1975, with both wins coming against North Carolina State University.

Bowden’s departure in 1976 signaled some down years for the program and it wouldn’t be until 1981 when West Virginia would post another winning season, going 9-2 and winning another Peach Bowl, this time against the University of Florida. The next season, an 8-2 Mountaineers program would face their old coach, Bowden, now leading Florida State University, in the Gator Bowl, where the Seminoles picked up a 31-12 victory.

West Virginia’s success would carry them into the next several decades, with the program achieving critical acclaim in 1988, where they took an undefeated regular season record of 11-0 into their Fiesta Bowl showdown with perennial power Notre Dame, who was also unbeaten with the same record. The Fighting Irish won that game 34-21, giving them a clear No. 1 ranking in every poll, declaring them as National Champions.

In 1991, West Virginia left the Southern Conference for the Big East Conference, where it spent two decades as one of the powerhouse programs. Another undefeated regular season in 1993 ended with a bowl game loss in the Sugar Bowl versus Florida, preventing the Mountaineers from another shot at a national title.

The turn of the 21st Century saw West Virginia pick up four Big East Conference Championships, with three coming consecutively between 2003 and 2005. Since 2000, the Mountaineers have made an appearance in a bowl game every season except 2001, 2013, and 2019. Their overall bowl game record in 39 appearances is 16 wins and 23 losses.

Check out all the updated West Virginia Mountaineers stats, recent news, and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Euro 2024 Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Copa America Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can




Robot_subscription sombras
Subscribe to get
Thank you for subscribing subscribed_icon