Iowa Hawkeyes



Iowa Hawkeyes Highlights

General Information

Conference: Big Ten
NCAA Division: Division 1
City: Iowa City
Stadium: Kinnick Stadium


  • National Championships: Five.
  • Conference Titles:13
  • Divisional Championships: 2

Past Conferences:

  • WIUFA.
  • MVIAA.

Iowa Hawkeyes Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Iowa Hawkeyes Stats & Records

Passing Yards

  • Chuck Long: 9,671
  • Nathan Stanley: 8,297
  • Drew Tate: 8,292
  • Ricky Stanzinn: 7,377
  • Chuck Hartlieb: 6,934

Rushing Yards

  • Sedrick Shaw: 4,156
  • Ladell Betts: 3,686
  • Albert Young: 3,173
  • Tavian Banks: 2,977
  • Akrum Wadley: 2,872

Receiving Yards

  • Marvin McNutt: 2,861
  • Derrell Johnson-Koulianos: 2,616
  • Tim Dwight: 2,271
  • Danan Hughes: 2,216
  • Ronnie Harmon: 2,045

Iowa Hawkeyes – NCAAF History

Team History

The University of Iowa Hawkeyes began playing football in 1889 and became a part of the WIUFA in 1892. In 1899, the Hawkeyes went undefeated and got an invitation to join the Western Conference, which is now the Big Ten.

The early 20s were good for the Hawkeyes; they won two Big Ten championships and, at one point, won 20 games in a row.

Eddie Anderson became coach in 1939 and changed the mold. The team became gritty and coined the nickname the “Ironmen” because of their small number of players. Team MVP Nile Kinnic won almost every possible award, including team MVP and the Heisman Trophy.

Good Year 1960

The year 1960 is one of the more popular Iowa football seasons. The Hawkeyes were ranked number one for the majority of the season. During the season, they beat Ohio State, Purdue, and Michigan State, who were all ranked top 15. Iowa’s only loss came to Minnesota. The Big Ten didn’t allow their teams to participate in any bowl outside of the Rose Bowl. Since Iowa lost to Minnesota, the Hawkeyes weren’t selected. The Hawkeyes didn’t get a bowl game despite getting a share of the Big Ten Title and despite being ranked first for most of the season.

Hayden Fry coached the Hawkeyes from 1979-1998. Fry made a bold vow when he claimed he’d resign if he didn’t have the Hawkeyes playing in a bowl game within four seasons. Fry’s third season was the Hawkeyes’ first winning season in 21 years. Additionally, they won a share of the Big Ten Title and earned a trip to the Rose Bowl. Fry led the Hawkeyes to three Big Ten Titles and 14 bowl games. Fry retired in 1998, and his former assistant Kirk Ferentz became head coach.

Ferentz led the Hawkeyes to three-straight top-ten finishes from 2002-2004 and two Big Ten championships. Ferentz remains at the reins in 2022. He’s been to multiple BCS bowls, including the Orange and Rose Bowls, and the Hawkeyes have finished in the top 25 ten times.

Follow us on Twitter

What is the highest win total in program history?

The 2015 Hawkeyes finished with 12 wins, including an 8-0 record in Big Ten games. The Hawkeyes were dominant. They averaged nearly three rushing touchdowns per game.

What was the worst season in program history?

In 1999 the Hawkeyes won just one game while losing 10. The Hawkeyes run game was one of the worst in the country. Additionally, they surrendered nearly 200 rush yards per game.

How many bowl games have the Hawkeyes made?

The Hawkeyes have made 38 bowl games. They currently have a 20-17-1 bowl record. The Hawkeyes played in and won their first bowl game in 1956 vs. Oregon State. 

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks