Cyclones Highlights

General Information

Conference Big 12 Conference (1996–present)
NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
City Ames, Iowa
Stadium: Jack Trice Stadium


  • Championships: 3
  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 2 (1911, 1919)
  • Divisional Championships: 1 (2004)

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1892–1907)
  • Big Eight Conference (1908–1995)

Iowa State Cyclones Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Iowa State Cyclones Stats & Records

Passing yards

  • Brock Purdy: 12,170
  • Bret Meyer: 9,499
  • Austen Arnaud: 6,777
  • Sam B. Richardson: 6,050
  • Alex Espinoza: 5,307

Rushing yards

⦁ Troy Davis: 4,382

⦁ Breece Hall: 3,941

⦁ Darren Davis: 3,763

⦁ Dexter Green: 3,585

⦁ Alexander Robinson: 3,309

Receiving yards

  • Allan Lazard: 3,360
  • Todd Blythe: 3,096
  •  Lane Danielsen: 2,690
  • Xavier Hutchinson: 2,362
  •  Charlie Kolar: 2,181

Latest College Football Betting News & Trends

Iowa State Cyclones – NCAAF History

Team History

The Iowa State Cyclones are a Division I FBS Football team based in Ames, Iowa. Initially founded as a club team in 1878, then made official in 1892, Iowa State has an overall record of 553–661–46. The Iowa State program was strong in its early stages, with legendary pioneer Pop Warner as one of the first coaches in program history. After a 36-0 upset blowout of Northwestern, sportswriters from the Chicago Tribune, said the Evanston, Illinois school was “struck by a cyclone”, which became the inspiration for the school’s nickname.

Under Clyde Williams, Iowa State was solid between 1907 and 1912, with the program’s only two conference championships coming along in that span, winning the Missouri Valley Conference crown in back-to-back years of 1911 and 1912.


In 1923, tackle Jack Trice, who was one of the first African-American players for any program located in the midwest, was seriously injured and trampled during a play against the University of Minnesota. He was sent home with his teammates despite being unable to leave the field on his power and later died from hemorrhaged lungs and internal bleeding. In 1974, the Iowa State student body voted to rename Cyclone Stadium in his honor, but the change wasn’t officially made until 1997. Jack Trice Stadium remains the only Division I stadium or arena to be named after an African American.


After a few mediocre decades, Iowa State found some success in the mid-1970s under head coach Earle Bruce. In 1976, the Cyclones went 8-3, picking up a pair of wins over top-10 ranked teams, but failed to reach a bowl game. The next season, Iowa State went 8-4 and played North Carolina State in the 1977 Peach Bowl, losing the contest by 24-14. Iowa State has made 18 bowl appearances in program history, with an overall record of 5-13. Their current stretch of five consecutive seasons with a bowl berth is the longest run in program history.


Check out all the updated Iowa State Cyclones team stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.


Iowa State Cyclones FAQs

What is the highest win total in Iowa State Cyclones program history?

While many College Football programs struggled to navigate through the 2020 season thanks in part to the COVID-19 virus pandemic, the Iowa State Cyclones won nine of their 12 games to tie a program record mark originally set in 2003, and would reach as high as eighth in the Associated Press Top 25 poll rankings during the season. Under head coach Matt Campbell, the Cyclones would just miss out on winning the Big 12 Championship after suffering a 27-21 loss to the Oklahoma Sooners in the title game, but the team did end the year on a high note, beating the Oregon Ducks 34-17 in the Fiesta Bowl down in Glendale, Arizona.

What was the worst season in Iowa State Cyclones program history?

The 1994 Iowa State Cyclones posted the only winless season to date, losing ten games that season with one ending in a tie. Under head coach Jim Walden, who would be fired at the end of the season, Iowa State was held to fewer than 31 points in ten of their eleven games on the year.

Who is the greatest player in Iowa State Cyclones program history?

Running Back Troy Davis is highly regarded as the best player to ever suit up for the Iowa State Cyclones. As a three-year starter from 1994 to 1996, Davis rushed for a total of 4,382 yards with 36 touchdowns, along with 258 career receiving yards and 537 return yards for the Cyclones, earning Heisman Trophy votes in 1995 and finishing second in 1996. Davis was the first player in NCAA history to rush for more than 2,000 yards in two different seasons. Davis would be drafted 62nd overall in the third round of the 1997 National Football League Draft by the New Orleans Saints, appearing in 46 games over three seasons. Davis was elected into Iowa State’s Hall of Fame in 2007 and later, enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2016.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks