NCAAF Liberty Flames

General Information

  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • Conference: Independent (2018-2023)
  • City: Lynchburg, Virginia
  • Stadium: Williams Stadium


  • Championships: 2
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 3
  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 2 in Division 1-AA (now FCS) (2007, 2013)
  • Divisional Championships: None

Past Conferences:

  •  *Big South (2002-2017)
  • * – Liberty was a member of Division 1-AA (now Division 1 FCS) at the time

Team History

The Liberty Flames are a Division I FBS football team based in Lynchburg, Virginia. Initially founded in 1973, Liberty has an overall record of 280–248–4. The program is one of the youngest in Division 1 FBS. After years of moving from NAIA to NCAA Division II and then to 1-AA (now FCS,) Liberty joined the Big South Conference in 2002, where the program grew to new heights. The Flames won eight Big South championships between 2007 and 2016.


Liberty finally jumped to Division I FBS status in 2017, and in 2019, under former Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze, the Flames posted an 8-5 record, reaching their first-ever bowl game and picking up a 23-16 victory over Georgia Southern in the Cure Bowl. The following season, in 2020, they would go 10-1, spend three weeks in the AP Top 25 rankings, and repeat as Cure Bowl Champs, this time beating former Big South rival Coastal Carolina 37-34 in overtime. In 2021, Liberty posted another 8-5 record, this time capping off the year with a 56-20 win over Eastern Michigan in the LendingTree Bowl in Mobile, Alabama.


Check out all the updated Liberty Flames stats, recent news, and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.


All-Time Records (CFB)

Passing yards

⦁ Stephen Calvert: 12,025

⦁ Josh Woodrum: 10,266

⦁ Robby Justino: 9,548

⦁ Paul Johnson: 7,397

⦁ Brock Smith: 7,036

Rushing yards

⦁ Dre Barnes: 4,035

⦁ Stacy Nobles: 3,711

⦁ Rashad Jennings: 3,633

⦁ Frankie Hickson: 2,898

⦁ Lawrence Worthington: 2,723

Receiving yards

⦁ Antonio Gandy-Golden: 3,184

⦁ Darrin Peterson: 3,170

⦁ Chris Summers: 2,712

⦁ Kelvin Edwards: 2,546

⦁ Pat Nelson: 2,447


Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks