Minutemen Highlights

General Information

  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • Conference: Independent (1879-1896; 1923-1946, 2016-present)
  • City: Hadley, Massachusetts
  • Stadium: Warren McGuirk Alumni Stadium
  • Bowl Game Appearances: None


  • Championships: 23
  • National Championships: One (1998 NCAA Division 1-AA National Title)
  • Conference Titles: 22 in Division 1-AA (now FCS)
  • Divisional Championships: None

Past Conferences:

  • Athletic League of New England State Colleges (1897–1922)
  • *Yankee Conference (1947–1996)
  • *Atlantic 10 Conference (1997–2006)
  • *Colonial Athletic Association (2007–2011)
  • Mid-American Conference (2012–2015)
  • * – UMass was a member of Division 1-AA (now Division 1 FCS) at the time

Team History

The Massachusetts Minutemen are a Division I FBS football team based in Amherst, Massachusetts. Initially founded in 1879, UMass has an overall record of 577–624–50. As one of the oldest programs in all of college football, UMass did not achieve much success until the 1960s. Over the next three decades, the Minutemen would win over 22 conference championships, and, in 1998, would go on to win the Division 1-AA National Championship with a 12-3 record, beating Georgia Southern (another club that would eventually jump to FBS status) by the score of 55-43.


UMass finally jumped to Division I FBS status in 2012, where they spent four years in the Mid-American Conference. Despite playing in the 1964 Tangerine Bowl, the 1972 Boardwalk Bowl, and the 1978 Pioneer Bowl, and ever since obtaining FBS status, the Minutemen have been the only program in that classification to have never reached a modern-day bowl game.


Check out all the updated Massachusetts Minutemen team stats, recent news, and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.


All-Time Records (CFB)

 Passing yards

⦁ Andrew Ford: 6,955

⦁ Blake Frohnapfel: 6,264

⦁ Ross Comis: 2,986

⦁ Mike Wegzyn: 2,428

⦁ A.J. Doyle: 1,689

Rushing yards

⦁ Marquis Young: 3,631

⦁ Ellis Merriweather: 1,472

⦁ Bilal Ally: 1,458

⦁ Jamal Wilson: 881

⦁ Shadrach Abrokwah: 851

Receiving yards

⦁ Andy Isabella: 3,526

⦁ Tajae Sharpe: 3,486

⦁ Adam Breneman: 1,572

⦁ Sadiq Palmer: 1,312

⦁ Rodney Mills: 1,013


Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks