NCAAF Michigan State Spartans

General Information

Conference: Big Ten
NCAA Division: Division I
City: East Lansing
Stadium: Spartan Stadium


  • National Championships: 6
  • Conference Titles: 11
  • Divisional Championships: 3

Past Conferences:

  • MIAA

Michigan State Spartans Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Michigan State Spartans Stats & Records

Passing Yards

  • Connor Cook: 9,194
  • Kirk Cousins: 9,131
  • Jeff Smoker: 8,932
  • Brian Lewerke: 8,293
  • Drew Stanton: 6,524

Rushing Yards

  • Lorenzo White: 4,887
  • Javon Ringer: 4,398
  • Tico Duckett: 4,212
  • Blake Ezor: 3,749
  • Sedrick Irvin: 3,504

Receiving Yards

  • BJ Cunningham: 3,086
  • Andre Rison: 2,992
  • Charles Rogers: 2,821
  • Kirk Gibson: 2,347
  • Tony Lippett: 2,247

Michigan State Spartans Football History

Football officially began at Michigan State (then Michigan Agricultural College) in 1896 when they joined the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA). Chester Brewer left his imprint on the team when he became head coach in three different stints. He coached from 1903-1910, 1917, and again in 1919. Brewster was brilliant defensively because his teams shut out the other team in over half of the games he coached.

In between his stints, John Macklin took over as coach and posted a 29-5 record and a 853 win percentage, which is still the best in Michigan State football history.

Clarence “Biggie” Munn coached from 1947-1953. Michigan State won back-to-back national championships in 1951 and 1952. During the 1950 season, the Michigan State football team started a historic 28-game win streak. In 1951, the team went undefeated. They were voted national champions by the Helm Athletic Foundation. In 1952, they went undefeated again and were number one in the coaches’ and AP polls.

Munn retired from coaching in 1953 and became the athletic director at Michigan State. During his time as head coach, he coached 17 All-Americans. Additionally, his teams put up monster numbers on the ground. He coached four teams that averaged over 265 rush yards per game.

The Michigan State football team had only two coaches from 1954-1994. They won two championships in those years under coach Duffy Daugherty, who coached from 1954-1972. Years 1965 and 1966 were perhaps the best and most important years in Michigan State football history. The 1965 team went undefeated but lost in the Rose Bowl to UCLA. Michigan State was still named national champion by the National Football Foundation. The 1966 team started 9-0 and was ranked #2. They faced No. 1 Notre Dame for their final game of the season. The game ended in a 10-10 tie and earned the nickname “Game of the Century.” Coach Dougherty went on to retire in 1972.

Michigan State Football was relatively quiet until coach Mark Dantonio arrived in 2006. He held the position from 2006-2019. Dantonio is the Spartans’ most winningest coach. He led Michigan State to a share of the Big Ten championship in the conference’s first-ever three way tie. In 2011, they won their division and played in the first ever Big Ten Championship game. They won Big Ten Championships under Dantonio in 2013 and 2015. He holds an 8-4 record against Michigan. He also led Michigan State to a playoff game in 2015. He stepped down in 2020.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks