NCAAF Michigan Wolverines

General Information

Conference: Big Ten
NCAA Division: Division I
City: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Stadium: Michigan Stadium



  • National Championships: 16
  • Conference Titles: 43
  • Divisional Championships: 2

Michigan Wolverines Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Michigan Wolverines Stats & Records

Passing Yards

  • Chad Henne: 9,715
  • John Navarre: 9,014
  • Elvis Grbac: 6,460
  • Devin Gardner: 6,336
  • Denard Robinson: 6,250

Rushing Yards

  • Michael Hart: 5,040
  • Denard Robinson: 4,495
  • Jamie Morris: 4,392
  • Tyrone Wheatley: 4,178
  • Anthony Thomas: 4,098

Receiving Yards

  • Braylon Edwards: 3,541
  • Anthony Carter: 3,076
  • Jeremy Gallon: 2,704
  • Amani Toomer: 2,522
  • Mario Manningham: 2,310

Michigan Wolverines – NCAAF History

The Michigan Wolverines are one of the most illustrious schools in college football history. The Wolverines played their first game in 1879. Fielding Yost coached the Wolverines from 1901-1926. He began his career by going undefeated in his first three seasons. He finished his career with eight national championships and a host of Big Ten championships.

Harry Kipke became head coach in 1929 and stayed at the helm until 1937. The Wolverines won the Big Ten four times during his stint. Additionally, they won the National Championship twice in 1932 and 1933. Michigan had a host of All-Americans and big names under Kipke, including future president Gerald Ford. Kipke finished his career with a 49-26-4 record.

Running back, actor, military pilot, and broadcaster Tom Harmon played football at Michigan from 1938-1940. During his time, he won a Heisman, Big Ten MVP, the Maxwell Award, and AP player of the year.

The steam cooled off in the 50s and 60s, since the Wolverines only won one Big Ten Championship in each decade. However, they did win an unclaimed championship in 1964 under Bump Elliott.

The Wolverines hired Bo Schembechler in 1969 and rose back to prominence. He coached the Wolverines for 20 seasons. In those seasons, he won two unclaimed National Championships and an astonishing 13 Big Ten Championships. The Wolverines had a 10-year stretch from 1969-1978, where they won or shared the Big Ten title. In 1985, eventual coach Jim Harbaugh became quarterback for the Wolverines. Harbaugh was an absolute star and finished 1985-1986 with a 21-3-1 record. Additionally, he was 1-1 in bowl games. Schembechler retired from coaching in 1989 and finished with a 194-48-5 all-time record.

Lloyd Carr took over in 1995. Carr had plenty of success early on. In his first season, he led the Wolverines to a 9-4 season and followed that up with an 8-4 record in his second season. However, 1997 was undoubtedly his best season, as the Wolverines won their first National Championship in nearly 50 years. The team was led by NFL Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson. After that, the Wolverines went 10-3 and won the Big Ten with 7 times Super Bowl-winning Tom Brady at the helm in 1998.

In 2004, Carr and the Wolverines were back on top. Michigan’s all-time, passing-yards leader Chad Henne led them to another Big Ten Championship. In 2007, the Wolverines beat Florida in the Capital One Bowl, and coach Carr retired.

Years 2008-2014 included mediocre seasons and NCAA violations.

In 2015, ex-Michigan quarterback and ex-NFL Jim Harbaugh returned to Michigan and became head coach. Harbaugh’s first two seasons were ultra successful; he led the team to a 10-3 record in both seasons. In 2016, they got a win over Florida in the Citrus Bowl.

2018 was one of Harbaugh’s best seasons at Michigan. The Wolverines beat multiple Big Ten teams in big games and were rewarded by being ranked as high as #4 in the college football playoff rankings. Unfortunately, their college football playoff dreams ended with a 62-39 loss to the Ohio State Buckeyes.

The Wolverines had winning records under Harbaugh in each of his eight seasons, with the exception of the 2020 season.

The year 2021 was easily Harbaugh’s best season. The Wolverines went 12-2 on the season, losing to Georgia in the college football playoff. En route to the college football playoffs, Michigan beat every team on their schedule with the exception of Michigan State.

So far in 2022, the Wolverines are 7-0 and looked primed to return to the college football playoffs. 

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



NBA Finals
dallas mavericks
Dallas Mavericks
Boston Celtics
Boston Celtics
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Stanley Cup
edmonton oilers
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Florida Panthers
Sunday, June 23, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks