NCAAF Ole Miss Rebels

General Information

  • Conference: SEC (1933)
  • NCAA Division: Division 1
  • City: Oxford, Mississippi
  • Stadium: Vaught – Hemingway Stadium


  • National Championships: 3
  • Conference Titles: 6
  • Divisional Championships: None

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1893–1898).
  • Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (1899–1921).
  • Southern Conference (1922–1932)

Ole Miss Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Ole Miss Standings & Records

Passing Yards

  • Eli Manning: 10,119
  •  Bo Wallace: 9,534
  •  Matt Coral: 8,287
  •  Chad Kelly: 6,800
  •  Romaro Miller: 6,513

Rushing Yards

  • Deuce McAllister: 3,181
  • Joe Gunn: 2,776
  • Brandon Bolden: 2,594
  • Dou Innocent: 2,322
  • Jeff Scott: 2,297

Receiving Yards

  • A. J. Brown: 2,984
  • Shay Hodge: 2,646
  • Chris Collins: 2,621
  • Elijah Moore: 2,441
  • Laquon Treadwell: 2,393

Ole Miss Football History

Team History

The Ole Miss Rebels had their inaugural season in 1893. They participated in the SIAA from 1899-1921 and then moved to the Southern Conference in 1922. After 10 years in the SoCon, they moved to the Southeastern Conference.

Johnny Vaught became head coach of the Rebels in 1947. Vaught got the Rebels out to a fast start finishing with a 9-2 overall record and winning the SEC. During Vaught’s 25-year stint, the Rebels suffered just one losing season. A stretch from 1959-1962 was the most dominant run in the Rebels’ history.

During that time, they went 39-3-1 overall, 20-2-1, and won three National Championships. The Rebels had a host of All-Americans during this time, including Archie Manning, Jake Gibbs, and Charlie Flowers.

Vaught finished with a 190–61–12 overall record, six SEC Championships, and 10 bowl wins.

Billy R. Kinard became head coach in 1971 and picked up where Vaught left off in his first season. The Rebels finished with a 10-2 overall record and won the Peach Bowl.

Unfortunately, the Rebels didn’t put together another season with at least eight wins until 1986, under coach Billy Brewer. He was also named SEC Coach of the Year in ‘86. Brewer became head coach in 1983 and led the Rebels to six winning seasons. Brewer ended his career with a 68–55–3 overall record. He also led the Rebels to eight wins over rival Mississippi State.

Many, Many Coaches

Tommy Tuberville took over from 1995-1998. He led the Rebels to winning seasons three out of his four seasons at the helm. After the 1998 season, he became the head coach at Auburn.

David Cutcliffe coached the Rebels from 1999-2004. He led the Rebels to five straight winning seasons from 1999-2003. In 2003, the Rebels won 10 games and went 7-1 in SEC play. They went on to beat Oklahoma State in the Cotton Bowl. He finished with a 44–29 overall record.

Hall-of-fame quarterback Eli Manning attended Ole Miss during Cutcliffe’s time. Manning was one of the best quarterbacks in the nation and still holds the record for most passing yards in Ole Miss history.

Ed Orgeron coached the Rebels from 2005-2007 and strung together three straight losing seasons.

Houston Nutt coached the Rebels from 2008-2011. The Rebels got off to a hot start, finishing 9-4 in each of his first two seasons. They also won back-to-back Cotton Bowls under Nutt. Unfortunately, his next two seasons were underwhelming, finishing with a 4-18 overall record.

Hugh Freeze was head coach from 2012-2016. Freeze had only one winning season. In 2015, the Rebels finished 10-3 and won the Sugar Bowl. After a host of off-the-field issues, Freeze resigned in July 2017.

Matt Luke was head coach from 2017-2019. His best season was in 2017 when he led the Rebels to a 6-6 record. During the years 2018 and 2019, things went downhill, and Luke was relieved of his duties.

Lane Kiffin has been head coach since the 2020 season. The Rebels’ offense has gotten a much-needed spark under Kiffin. After a slow start in 2020, Kiffin and the Rebels finished 10-3 in 2021.

What was the highest win total in Ole Miss history?

The most wins the Rebels have in a season is ten. They won ten games in 1955, 1959, 1960, 1971, 2003, 2015 and 2021.

What was the worst season in Ole Miss history?

The worst season in Rebels history came in 2011. The Rebels finished with an underwhelming 2-10 record. It was their first time finishing with only two wins since 1946. 

How many bowl games has Ole Miss played in?

The Rebels have played in 38 bowl games. The Rebels have been very good in bowl games with a 24-14 overall bowl record.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Euro 2024 Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Copa America Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can




Robot_subscription sombras
Subscribe to get
Thank you for subscribing subscribed_icon