NCAAF Navy Midshipmen

NCAA Division: Division 1
Conference: American Athletic Conference
Past Conferences: Independent 

City: Annapolis, Maryland

Stadium: Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium

National Championships: 1

Conference Titles: 

Divisional Championships: 3


Team History

 The Navy football team has been around since 1879. The Midshipmen had 39 winning seasons from 1900 till 1950, including their only National Championship in 1926. 

In 1950, the Midshipmen hired Eddie Erdelatz to be the head coach. He didn’t have much success in his first year, but he did lead the Naval football team to a huge win over their rival Army. Erdelatz led the Midshipmen to a winning season in seven of his nine seasons at the helm. Additionally, they went 2-0 in bowl games. 

Wayne Hardin was hired in 1959 and picked up right where Erdelatz left off. The team went 38-22 during his tenure. Both Joe Bellino and Roger Staubach won the Heisman trophy under coach Hardin. 

The Midshipmen went through two coaches from 1964 and 1972 and didn’t have much success. George Welsh took over in 1973. He led the Navy back to prominence. Under Welsh, the Midshipmen went to three bowl games, and he finished with 55 wins. 

From 1983 to 2003, the Midshipmen only enjoyed two winning seasons. The year 1996 ended with a berth and win in the Aloha bowl. 

From 2000 On

Paul Johnson was hired in 2003 and brought the Midshipmen five straight winning seasons in his six-year tenure. Additionally, they went to four straight bowl games from 2003-2007 winning two of them. Johnson won the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year award in 2004. He had multiple signature wins, none bigger than the Midshipmen’s 2007 win over arch rival Notre Dame. Johnson’s triple option attack ranked among the top rushing attacks in the nation during his entire tenure. At the end of the 2007 season, he was hired to become head coach at Georgia Tech. 

 Ken Niumatalolo got the job in 2008 and is currently still the head coach. The Midshipmen beat Notre Dame in 2008 and 2009. He’s led the Midshipmen to 10 winning seasons in his 16 year tenure. They’ve also appeared in 11 bowl games, having won their last two. The Naval football team agreed to join the American Athletic Conference before the 2015 season. They’ve won the Western division of the AAC three times in the past eight seasons. In 2015 and 2019, the Midshipmen had 11 win seasons. 

Unfortunately, they haven’t had a winning season since the 2019 season. 


All Time Records (CFB)

  • Passing yards

    • Jim Kubiak: 6,008

    • Bill Byrne: 4,582

    • Keenan Reynolds: 4,001

    • Mike McNallen: 3,996

    • Bob Lesczynski: 3,945


  • Rushing yards

    • Keenan Reynolds: 4,559

    • Malcolm Perry: 4,359

    • Napoleon McCallum: 4,179

    • Chris McCoy: 3,401

    • Eddie Meyers: 2,935

  • Receiving yards

    •  Rob Taylor: 1,736

    • Jamir Tillman: 1,626

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks