Aggies Highlights

General Information

  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • Conference: Independent (1893-1931; 2013, 2018-present)
  • City: Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Stadium: Aggie Memorial Stadium


  • Championships: 4
  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 4 (1938, 1960, 1976, 1978)
  • Divisional Championships: None
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 4

Past Conferences:

  • Border (1931–1961)
  • Missouri Valley Conference (1971–1982)
  • Big West (1983–2000)
  • Sun Belt (2001–2004)
  • Western Athletic Conference (2005–2012)
  • Sun Belt (2014–2017)

Team History

The New Mexico State Aggies are a Division I FBS football team based in Las Cruces, New Mexico. Initially founded in 1893, New Mexico State has an overall record of 440–664–30.


New Mexico State has had very limited success as a program throughout its history. With some winning seasons in the 1920s and a bowl game appearance in the 1936 Sun Bowl, where they tied 14-14 versus Hardin-Simmons, The Aggies have been mired in mediocrity for most of the last nine decades, save for a perfect 11-0 season capped off with a win in the 1960 Sun Bowl over Utah State.


As a Division 1-AA (now Division I FCS) program, New Mexico State did win two Missouri Valley Conference championships in 1976 and 1978, with the former title clinched despite an overall record of 4-6-1 that season. In 2017, with a 6-6 record, the Aggies reached their first bowl game since the aforementioned 1960 season, picking up a victory in the Arizona Bowl, once again beating Utah State, in a 26-20 overtime classic. It was the first winning season for the program since 1992 and just their ninth overall since 1959. After years of bouncing around through different conferences, New Mexico State chose to be Independent in 2018 to keep the program at Division 1 FBS level.


Check out all the updated New Mexico State Aggies team stats, recent news, and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.


All-Time Records (CFB)

Passing yards

⦁ Chase Holbrook: 11,846

⦁ Tyler Rodgers: 10,364

⦁ Cody Ledbetter: 7,480

⦁ Joe Pisarcik: 5,780

⦁ K.C. Enzminger: 5,416

 Rushing yards

⦁ Denvis Manns: 4,692

⦁ Larry Rose III: 4,558

⦁ Po James: 3,244

⦁ Preacher Pilot: 2,971

⦁ Jim Bohl: 2,858

Receiving yards

⦁ Chris Williams: 3,565

⦁ Lucious Davis: 2,769

⦁ Duane Gregory: 2,641

⦁ A.J. Harris: 2,561

⦁ Austin Franklin: 2,439


Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks