Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.




NCAAF Oklahoma Sooners

General Information

  • Conference: Big 12 Conference (1996–present)
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Morgantown, West Virginia
  • Stadium: Milan Puskar Stadium


  • Bowl Game Appearances: 55
  • Championships: 65
  • National Championships:  7 (1950, 1955, 1956, 1974, 1975, 1985, 2000)
  • Conference Titles: 50 (1926, 1930, 1932, 1944, 1945, 1948, 1953, 1976, 2011)
  • Divisional Championships: 8 (2010)

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1895–1914)
  • Southwest Conference (1915–1919)
  • Big Eight Conference (1920–1995)

Oklahoma Sooners Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Oklahoma Sooners Standings & Records

Passing yards

  • Landry Jones: 16,646
  • Baker Mayfield: 12,292
  •  Sam Bradford: 8,403
  • Jason White: 7,922
  • Josh Heupel: 7,066

Rushing yards

  • Samaje Perine: 4,122
  • Adrian Peterson; 4,041
  • Joe Washington: 3,995
  • Steve Owens: 3,928
  • Billy Sims: 3,820

Receiving yards

  • Ryan Broyles: 4,586
  • Sterling Shepard: 3,482
  • CeeDee Lamb: 3,292
  • Mark Clayton: 3,236
  • Juaquin Iglesias: 2,861

Oklahoma Sooners Football History

Team History

The Oklahoma Sooners are a Division I FBS Football team based in Norman, Oklahoma. Initially founded in 1895, Oklahoma has an overall record of 932–334–53.

Regarded as one of the “Blue Bloods” in College Football, the Oklahoma Sooners have been a dominant program for nearly their entire existence. With over 900 victories, 50 conference titles and seven recognized National Championships, along with nearly a half-dozen more disputed titles, Oklahoma’s rich history has left a footprint on the game of football. In the history of the National Football League, there have been 388 former Oklahoma Sooners to be drafted into the league, not to mention dozens of others that were undrafted and signed to contracts.

 Dominant Decade

The most dominant decade for the Oklahoma Sooners program came during the 1950s. Under head coach Bill Wilkinson, the 1953 Sooners posted a 9-1-1 record, defeating Maryland in the Orange Bowl by a 7-0 score. The Terrapins were coached by former Oklahoma leader Jim Tatum. What took place over the next three seasons has, to this day, never been duplicated, as the Sooners would rattle off three straight undefeated seasons at 10-0 in 1954, 11-0 in 1955, and again 10-0 in 1956. The 47-game undefeated streak came to a close on November 16th, 1957, in a 7-0 loss to the Notre Dame Fighting Irish. This streak still stands, with no team getting past 35 consecutive wins.

The Oklahoma Sooners have made 55 bowl game appearances, which is the most of any Division I FBS program, along with their 31 victories. Oklahoma is one of two schools to play in all five of the now-defunct Bowl Championship Series designated bowl games (Orange Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Rose Bowl and the BCS National Championship Game). Only the Ohio State Buckeyes were able to accomplish that feat during the BCS era. Oklahoma currently has a 23-season streak of bowl game appearances, which is the seventh-longest active streak in all of College Football.

Check out all the updated Oklahoma Sooners team stats, future odds, recent news and betting tips and more, here at Point Spreads.

What is the highest win total in Oklahoma Sooners program history?

The 2000 season was a huge success for the Oklahoma Sooners, setting a school record with 13 victories and going undefeated en route to a National Championship, the seventh in program history. Under Head Coach Bob Stoops, the Sooners dominated on both sides of the ball, averaging 37 points per game offensively and allowing an average of just 14.9 points per game, both ranking within the nation’s Top Ten slots. Oklahoma capped off their perfect season by beating the Florida State Seminoles 13-2 in the Orange Bowl down in Miami, Florida to win the Bowl Championship Series title.

What was the worst season in Oklahoma Sooners program history?

With only a dozen seasons ending with a win percentage below .500, the Oklahoma Sooners aren’t used to having losing seasons, but the worst year in program history was 1996. In their first season as a member of the newly formed Big Twelve (XII) conference, Oklahoma went 3-8 under first-year head coach John Blake. The defense was the issue all season, as the Sooners allowed 20 or more points in ten of their eleven contests that year.

Who is the greatest player in Oklahoma Sooners program history?

Running Back Billy Sims is without question the greatest player in the history of the Oklahoma Sooners football program. From 1975 to 1979, Sims rushed for 3,820 yards and 48 touchdowns, with 42 of those scores coming in his junior season of 1978, where he would go on to win the Heisman Trophy and several other College Football Player of the Year awards and in his senior season of 1979, when he would be the first running back to rush for three consecutive 200-yard games in Big Eight conference history. Sims would be taken first overall in the first round of the 1980 National Football League Draft by the Detroit Lions, where he would make a big impact in his four seasons, leading the franchise to back-to-back postseason berths in 1982 and 1983. Unfortunately, Sims would suffer a career-ending knee injury halfway through the 1984 season. He officially retired in 1986 and his #20 jersey number was eventually given to another
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Thursday, February 22, 2024
Thursday, February 22, 2024
UFC Fight Night
Saturday, February 24, 2024
EFL Cup Final
Sunday, February 25, 2024

Submit your vote and view the results

Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks