NCAAF San Jose State Spartans

NCAA Division: 

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)



Mountain West Conference (2013–present)


Past Conferences: 

Independent (1892,1893–1921; 1925-1928, 1935-1938, 1950-1968,), California Coast Conference (1922–1924), Far Western Conference (1929–1934), California Collegiate Athletic Association (1939–1949), Pacific Coast Athletic Association (1969–1987), Big West Conference (1988–1995), Western Athletic Conference (1996–2012)


City: San Jose, California


Stadium: CEFCU Stadium 


Bowl Game Appearances: 11


Championships: 17

National Championships: None

Conference Titles: 17 (1932, 1934, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 2020)

Divisional Championships: None

Team History

The San Jose State Spartans are a Division I FBS Football team based in San Jose, California. Initially founded in 1893, San Jose State has an overall record of 500–521–38. 


During the 1930s and 1940s, San Jose State’s team stats were flourishing, posting 12 consecutive winning seasons and winning eight conference championship titles over 18 years. The 1932 and 1939 teams went 7–0–2 and 13–0, respectively, the only undefeated seasons in school history aside from the team’s 5–0–1 season in 1898.


After some below-average years over the next two decades, the Spartans re-emerged as a solid mid-major program, posting 15 winning seasons between 1971 and 1992. Over the years, San Jose State has been a solid program for developing NFL talent, with over 120 players reaching the professional ranks. In 2020, the Spartans team stats won the Mountain West Championship in a season shortened by the COVID-19 pandemic. Overall, San Jose State has a record of 4-7 in 11 bowl game appearances.


Check out all the updated San Jose State Spartans team stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads. 


All-Time Records (CFB)


Passing yards

David Fales: 8,382

Adam Tafralis: 7,548

Steve Clarkson: 7,309

Josh Love: 7,206

Ed Luther: 7,190


Rushing yards

Deonce Whitaker: 3.515

Tyler Ervin: 2,803

Tyler Nevens: 2,556

Sheldon Canley: 2,513

Gerald Willhite: 2,403


Receiving yards

Noel Grigsby: 3,121

Chandler Jones: 3,087

Tre Walker: 2,790

Guy Liggins: 2,378

Stacey Bailey: 2,231



What Is the Highest Win Total in San Jose State Spartans Program History?

In 1939, the San Jose State Spartans ran off a perfect 13-0 season under head coach Dudley DeGroot. All but one game against Willamette College in Salem, Oregon, were played in the state of California, with the famous football coach and innovator Pop Warner as one of the “Advisory Coaches” as they were called at the time. In modern days, the 2012 San Jose State team went 12-1 that season, winning the Western Athletic Conference title and beating the Bowling Green State Falcons 29-20 in the Military Bowl, held in Washington D.C.

What Was the Worst Season in San Jose State Spartans Program History?

The 2010 San Jose State Spartans went 1-12 that season under head coach Mike McIntyre. Their only victory that year came against Division I FCS school Southern Utah. The Spartans were held to 16 points or fewer in nine of their 13 games played.

Who Is the Greatest Player in San Jose State Spartans Program History?

Quarterback Jeff Garcia played three seasons with the San Jose State Spartans program, throwing for 6,545 yards and 48 touchdowns as a starter his last two years. After some time with the Calgary Stampeders in the Canadian Football League, Garcia played 11 seasons in the National Football League with San Francisco, Cleveland, Detroit, Tampa Bay and Philadelphia. He has made four Pro Bowl teams and is one of only 12 quarterbacks in National Football League history to record back-to-back seasons of 30 or more touchdowns in a year. 

How Many Bowl Games Did San Jose State Make?

The San Jose State Spartans have made 11 bowl game appearances, with an overall record of seven wins and four losses. The Spartans have reached at least one bowl game in each of the last six decades.

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks