NCAAF Texas A&M Aggies

General Information

  • Conference: SEC (2012)
  • NCAA Division: Division 1
  • City: College Station, Texas
  • Stadium: Kyle Field


  • National Championships: 3
  • Conference Titles: 18
  • Divisional Championships: 3
  • Bowl Record: 20-22

Past Conferences:

  • Big 12 Conference (1996–2011).
  • Southwest Conference (1915–1996).

Texas A&M Aggies Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to Texas A&M Aggies standings, team stats, updated college football injury report and more.

All-Time Texas A&M Aggies Stats & Records

Passing Yards

  • Kellen Mond: 9,661
  • Jerrod Johnson: 8,011
  • Johnny Manziel: 7,820
  • Reggie McNeal: 6,992
  • Corey Pullig: 6,942

Rushing Yards

  • Darren Lewis: 5,012
  • Curtis Dickey: 3,703
  • Trayveon Williams: 3,615
  • Cyrus Gray: 3,298
  • Greg Hill: 3,262

Receiving Yards

  •  Ryan Swope: 3,117
  •  Jeff Fuller: 3,092
  •  Christian Kirk: 2,856
  •  Josh Reynolds: 2,788
  •  Terrence Murphy: 2,600

Texas A&M Aggies Football History

The Texas A&M Aggies began playing football in 1894. The Aggies were independent before joining the Southwest Conference. Dana X. Bible became head coach in 1917. In his first two seasons (1917 and 1919,) the Aggies went undefeated and won their conference. In 1919, they finished 10-0 and were crowned National Champions. Bible coached for ten years and ended with a 72–19–9 record. He led the team to two National Championships (1919 and 1927,) five conference championships, and a bowl win.  

Homer Norton took over in 1934. From 1939-1941 the Aggies never won less than nine NCAAF games. Additionally, they won their conference in each of those years and the National Championship in 1939. He held the post until 1947 and finished with an 82–53–9 record.

Legendary coach Bear Bryant coached the Aggies from 1954-1957. After a 1-9 record in his first year, the Aggies had three straight winning NCAAF seasons. In 1956, the Aggies finished with a perfect 9-0 record and won the SWC. Bryant departed for Alabama in 1957.

The Aggies didn’t enjoy another winning season until 1967 and then not again until 1974 under coach Emory Bellard. He was at the helm from 1972-1978. His first two NCAAF seasons were underwhelming. However, in his last four seasons, the Aggies compiled a 40-13 overall record. Additionally, they won the SWC in 1975 and had a bowl record of 1-2.

Jackie Sherrill coached the Aggies from 1982-1988. After two five-win seasons in his first two years, the Aggies saw some success under Sherrill. From 1985-1987, the Aggies had a combined 29-7 record, a 2-1 bowl record, and they won the SWC in all three seasons. Sherrill resigned after the 1988 season when the Aggies were hit with multiple violations.

Move to the Big Twelve

R. C. Slocum took over in 1989. Slocum was amazing for the Aggies. He coached for 14 years and the Aggies finished with a winning record in 12 of those years. He became the winningest coach in Aggies history with a 123–47–2 during his tenure.

They won three SWC championships and had a 2-4 bowl record. In 1996, they moved to the Big 12. They won their division in 1997 and won the entire Big 12 in 1998. The change in conference didn’t mean much to the Aggies. He was asked to step down after going 6-6 in the 2002 season.

Dennis Franchione coached from 2003-2007. The Aggies had some success under him. The Aggies finished 32-28 and 0-3 in bowl games. Franchione was let go after violating NCAA rules.

Mike Sherman was next up. They were average, at best, during his time, except for the 2010 season. The Aggies finished 9-4 overall and 6-2 in Big 12 play. They also finished 0-2 in college football bowl games. Sherman was relieved of his duties in December 2011.

The Aggies moved to the SEC and hired Kevin Sumlin in 2012. The Aggies started off 11-2 in their first year in the SEC including big wins over Alabama Crimson Tide and a Cotton Bowl win over Oklahoma. Quarterback Johnny Manziel took the country by storm and won the Heisman. In 2013, he followed it up with a 9-4 record. The Aggies posted winning records in each of Sumlin’s six seasons. Sumlin was fired in November 2017. He finished with a 51–26 overall record, and a 3-2 bowl record.

Jimbo Fisher has been head coach since 2018. Fisher finished where Sumlin left off. The Aggies had winning seasons from 2018-2021 and never won less than eight games. So far, Fisher has a 37-21 overall record and a perfect 3-0 bowl record.

Texas A&M FAQs

What was the highest win total in Aggies history?

In 2012, the Aggies joined the SEC and took it by storm. The Aggies finished with 11 wins, which is the most in school history.

What was the worst season in Aggies history?

The worst season for the Aggies came in 1948. It was their first and only winless season. The 1970 Aggies are a close second, as they finished with an underwhelming 2-9 record.

How many bowl games have the Aggies made?

The Aggies have made 42 bowl games and currently have a 20-22 bowl record.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Stanley Cup Finals
edmonton oilers
Edmonton Oilers
Dallas Stars
Dallas Stars
Friday, May 31, 2024
NBA Eastern Conference Finals
indiana pacers
Indiana Pacers
Boston Celtics
Boston Celtics
Friday, May 31, 2024
Stanley Cup Finals
florida panthers
Florida Panthers
NY Rangers
NY Rangers
Friday, May 31, 2024
NBA Western Conference Finals
dallas mavericks
Dallas Mavericks
Minnesota Timberwolves
Minnesota Timberwolves
Friday, May 31, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks