Bobcats Highlights

NCAA Division: Division I
Conference: Sun Belt
Past Conferences: WAC(2012) Independent (2011)

Southland (1987–2010)

Gulf Star (1984–1986)

Lone Star (1932–1983)

TIAA (1922–1931)

City: San Marcos, Texas

Stadium: Bobcat Stadium

National Championships: 2

Conference Titles: 14

Divisional Championships:

Team History

The Texas State Bobcats began playing football in the 1900s. Oscar W. Strahan became the first head from 1919-1934. He finished his tenure with a 72-52-10 record and won one conference championship. During his stint, they played in multiple conferences, such as the TIAA and the Lone Star Conference. Joe Bailey coached the Bobcats from 1935-1942. They weren’t really good under him. There was no team from 1943-1945 due to World War II.


Over the next 20 years, the Bobcats saw three different head coaches. During that time they enjoyed two conference championships and two co-championships.


In 1965, they hired Bill Miller as head coach. Miller hit the ground leading the Bobcats to a 24-5-1 combined record in his first three years. In 1971, he led the Bobcats to a 7-1-1 conference record and they went on to win the Lone Star Conference. The Bobcats had just two losing seasons during his 14-year stint.


Best Run Ever

Prominent coach Jim Wacker took over after Miller. Wacker had the best run ever at Texas State. During his four-year stint with the Bobcats, they finished with a 42-8 overall record and a 22-6 conference record. Additionally, the Bobcats won the Lone Star Conference three years straight from 1980-1982. The years 1981 and 1982 were his best ones. The Bobcats went 27-1 and only lost one conference game between the two years. Additionally, they won the Division 2 National Championship in both 1981 and 1982.


John O’Hara was next up. In his first season, they finished 9-2 and lost in the Quarterfinal round of the playoffs. O’Hara finished his career with a 36-41 record.


From 1984-1986 the Bobcats competed in the Gulf Star Conference and from 1987-1989 they competed in the Southland Conference.


The Bobcats had just two winning seasons from 1990-2000.


From 2000 On

David Bailiff coached the Bobcats from 2004-2006. The years 2004 and 2006 ended with 5-6 records. However, in 2005, the Bobcats went 11-3 overall and made it to the semifinals round of the playoffs. They also went 4-1 in conference play and won the Southland conference.


Brad Wright would be at the helm from 2007-2010. In 2008 and 2009, the Bobcats finished with winning records. Wright was fired after an underwhelming 2010 season.


Dennis Franchione became the coach for the second time in 2011. After a 6-6 season in 2011, the Bobcats moved to the FBS. They joined the Western Athletic Conference in 2012, then the Sun Belt in 2013. The Bobcats had just one winning season during Franchione’s second stint. He retired after the 2015 season.


After multiple losing seasons under Everett Withers, from 2016-2018, the Bobcats hired current head coach Jake Spavital. Spavital currently has a 13-35 combined record and a 9-23 record in the Sunbelt.

All-Time Records (CFB)

  • Passing yards

    • Bradley George: 9,556

    • Tyler Jones: 8,480

    • Barrick Nealy: 7,206

    • David Williams: 6,677

    • Tyler Vitt: 4,483


  • Rushing yards

    • Claude Mathis: 4,694

    • Kevin Jurgajtis: 3,205

    • Karrington Bush: 3,193

    • Robert Lowe: 3,027

    • Bronson Sanders: 2,940

  • Receiving yards

    •  Johnny Parker: 2,479

    •  Cameron Luke: 2,431

    •  David Vela: 2,110

    •  Da’Marcus Griggs: 1,990

    •  Daren Dillard: 1,586

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks