Red Raiders



Red Raiders Highlights

General Information

  • Conference: Big 12 Conference (1996–present)
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Lubbock, Texas
  • Stadium: Jones AT&T Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles:11 (1937, 1942, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1976, 1994)
  • Divisional Championships: 1 (2008)
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 39

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1925–1931, 1957–1959)
  • Border Conference (1932–1956)
  • Southwest Conference (1960–1995)

Texas Tech Red Raiders Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

Texas Tech Red Raiders Stats & Records

Most Passing yards in a season

  • Graham Harrell: 15,793
  • Kliff Kingsbury: 12,429
  • Patrick Mahomes: 11,252
  • Seth Doege: 8,636
  • Robert Hall: 7,908

Most Rushing yards in a season

  • Byron Hanspard: 4,135
  • James Gray: 4,066
  • Ricky Williams: 3,656
  • Bam Morris: 3,545
  • DeAndre Washington: 3,411

Most Receiving yards in a season

  • Jakeem Grant: 3,286
  • Michael Crabtree: 3,127
  • Wes Welker: 3,069
  • Lloyd Hill: 3,059
  • Carlos Francis: 3,031

Texas Tech Red Raiders – NCAAF History

The First Years: Texas Tech Raiders

The Texas Tech Red Raiders are a Division I FBS Football team based in Lubbock, Texas. Initially founded in 1925, Texas Tech has an overall record of 585–471–32. The team was known as the Matadors for eleven seasons. The wife of coach E.Y. Freeland was enamored by the architecture around the Lubbock campus area and suggested the name to her husband. Eventually, the program became known as the Red Raiders in 1937, after sportswriters commented on the bright red uniforms they wore; it is still part of their color scheme to this day. Freeland led the program to solid success during his tenure, and Texas Tech joined its first conference -the Border Intercollegiate Athletic Conference- in 1932. Coach Pete W. Cawthon led the 1937 Red Raiders to their first-ever college bowl game appearance, where they dropped a 7-6 decision to West Virginia University in the Sun Bowl. The following season, Texas Tech went undefeated for the first and -to this date- only time in program history, wrapping up the historic season with a loss to St. Mary’s in the 1938 Cotton Bowl Classic with a score of 20-13.

Winningest Coach & the Air Raid Offensive Scheme

The next two decades saw limited success for Texas Tech, outside of a three-year run of winning seasons leading to a pair of bowl game appearances, with wins over Pacific in the 1952 Sun Bowl and Auburn in the 1954 Gator Bowl. The Red Raiders left the Border Intercollegiate Athletic Conference in hopes of joining the larger Southwestern Conference, but the other member schools did not vote Texas Tech in until the 1960 season. The Texas Tech program was largely mediocre for the next two decades, outside of reaching three more bowl games, the latter of which was a 1973 Gator Bowl victory over Tennessee Volunteers of the Southeastern Conference. After three more bowl game appearances in the mid-1970s, Texas Tech took a further decline. They failed to reach a winning season and bowl berth again until 1986 when the Red Raiders lost to Ole Miss 20-17 in that year’s Bluebonnet Bowl. Coach Spike Dykes took over the next season and led the club until his retirement in 1999. With a record of 82 wins, 67 losses, and one tie, Dykes is the second-winningest head coach in Texas Tech Red Raiders program history, leading the club to six bowl game appearances and into the newly formed Big 12 Conference during his stretch.

The winningest head coach in Texas Tech Red Raiders history is Mike Leach, who led the program from 2000 to 2009 with a record of 84 wins and 43 losses, plus a bowl game appearance in every single season of his tenure. His use of the Air Raid offensive scheme has continued with future coaches after his departure before the start of the 2010 season.

Texas Tech: Stats & Recent Rank

Texas Tech has played in 39 postseason bowl games with an overall record of 15 wins, 23 losses, and 1 tie. The Red Raiders rank third among current Big 12 Conference programs in bowl game appearances. Texas Tech’s most recent bowl victory is the 2021 Autozone Liberty Bowl, defeating former coach Mike Leach, now with Mississippi State University in a 34-7 rout.

Check out all the updated Texas Tech Red Raiders team stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks