Broncos Highlights

General Information

  • Conference: Mid-American Conference (1948–present)
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Kalamazoo, Michigan
  • Stadium: Waldo Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 4 (1929, 1966, 1988, 2016)
  • Divisional Championships: 4 (1999, 2000, 2015, 2015)
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 11

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1906-1925; 1932-1947)
  • Michigan Collegiate Conference (1926–1931)

Western Michigan Broncos Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Western Michigan Broncos Stats & Records

Passing Yards

⦁ Zach Terell: 12,100
⦁ Tim Hiller: 11,329
⦁ Tim Lester: 11,299
⦁ Alex Carder: 8,886
⦁ Brad Tayles: 8,717

Rushing Yards

⦁ Jarvion Franklin: 4,867
⦁ Jerome Persell: 4,190
⦁ LeVante Bellamy: 3,720
⦁ Brandon West: 3,671
⦁ Shawn Faulker: 3,341

Receiving Yards

⦁ Corey Davis: 5,278
⦁ Jordan White: 4,187
⦁ Steve Neal: 3.599
⦁ Greg Jennings: 3,539
⦁ Jamarko Simmons: 3,019

Western Michigan Broncos – NCAAF History

The Western Michigan Broncos are a Division 1 FBS Football team based in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Founded in 1906, Western Michigan has an overall record of 588–466–24. Originally called the Hilltoppers, the school changed its name to Broncos in 1939 to avoid confusion with Marquette University and Western Kentucky University, both of which used the Hilltoppers moniker at that time.

As member of the Mid-American Conference since 1948, Western Michigan stats had been mostly mediocre throughout the years until the program started to flourish in the late 1980s, with an appearance in the 1988 California Bowl and subsequent winning seasons over the next two decades. In 2016, Western Michigan pulled off its biggest season in program history. With Head Coach P.J. Fleck at the helm, the Broncos went undefeated in the regular season with a 13-0 record, capturing a MAC Championship and reaching their first ever BCS Bowl berth, losing to Wisconsin 24-16 in that year’s Cotton Bowl. In 11 bowl appearances, the program has captured two wins: the 2015 Bahamas Bowl over Middle Tennessee and the 2021 Quick Lane Bowl over Nevada.

Check out all the updated Western Michigan Broncos stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks