Cowboys Highlights

General Information

Conference: Mountain West Conference (1999–present)

NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)

City: Laramie, Wyoming

Stadium: War Memorial Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 14 (1949, 1950, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1976, 1987, 1988, 1993)
  • Divisional Championships:  2 (1996, 2016)
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 17

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1893–1904)
  • Colorado Football Association (1905–1908)
  •  Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (1909–1937)
  •  Mountain States Conference (1938–1961)
  • Western Athletic Conference (1962–1998)

Wyoming Cowboys Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Wyoming Cowboys Stats & Records

Passing yards

⦁ Casey Bramlet: 9,684
⦁ Brett Smith: 8,834
⦁ Tom Corontzos: 7,945
⦁ Jay Stoner: 7,674
⦁ Josh Wallwork: 6,453

Rushing yards

⦁ Marcus Harris: 4,518
⦁ Ryan Yarborough: 4,374
⦁ Jovon Bouknight: 3,626
⦁ Wendell Montgomery: 2,883
⦁ Tanner Gentry: 2,815

Receiving yards

  • Tavon Austin: 3,413
  • Stedman Bailey: 3,218
  • David Saunders: 2,608
  • Shawn Foreman: 2,347
  • Khori Ivy: 2,313

Wyoming Cowboys – NCAAF History

The Wyoming Cowboys are a Division I FBS football team based in Laramie, Wyoming. Initially founded in 1893, the Cowboys have an overall record of 553–589–28. After mediocre results for most of the early 20th century, the Cowboys started to dominate the defunct Mountain States Conference, winning four straight conference championships between 1958 and 1961. They followed up in the late 1960s, winning three-straight titles in the Western Athletic Conference.

Over the years, Wyoming have been among the most notable “stepping stone” programs because of the success of its former coaches. Coaches such as Bowden Wyatt, Bob Devaney, Fred Akers, Pat Dye, Dennis Erickson, and Joe Tiller all led the Cowboys before gaining notoriety at bigger football programs around the nation.

Wyoming have made 17 bowl game appearances, with an overall record of 9-8. The Cowboys have reached at least one bowl game in each of the last eight decades.

War Memorial Stadium, which Wyoming has called home since 1950, is the highest Division I FBS football stadium in the nation, with the elevation of the playing field exceeding 7,200 feet above sea level.

Check out all the updated Wyoming Cowboys team stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks