FC Salzburg Betting Stats

FC Salzburg Betting Stats
FC Red Bull Salzburg

General Information


Red Bull Arena (Wals-Siezenheim)


Championships: 1994, 1995, 1997, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

Austrian Cup: 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022


FC Salzburg Stats & History

FC Red Bull Salzburg were originally known as SV Austria Salzburg. The club was formed in 1933 as a merger of Salzburg clubs Hertha and Rapid. SV Austria Salzburg first reached Austria’s top flight league in 1953. They nearly earned their first Austrian league title in the 1970-71 season, but finished one point behind Wacker Innsbruck.

The first European campaign in the Red Bull Salzburg team stats was a UEFA Cup appearance in 1971-72. In 1974, they also managed to reach the Austrian Cup final for the first time in club history. Due to sponsorship reasons, they changed their name to SV Casino Salzburg in 1978.

The club gained international recognition in 1994 as they reached their first-ever European final. Salzburg knocked out European powerhouses Sporting CP and Eintracht Frankfurt en route to the final vs. Inter Milan. In the two-legged final, Salzburg fell 1-0 in both matches; however, they won a first Austrian Bundesliga title in the FC Salzburg stats that same year.

Salzburg first played in the UEFA Champions League in the 1994-95 season and finished third in their group. They also won Austrian Bundesliga titles in 1995 and 1997. Red Bull took over the club in 2005, and changed the name to the current FC Red Bull Salzburg.

With the loads of cash Red Bull poured into the team, they’ve become the dominant force in Austrian soccer. Plenty of top-level players have developed in Salzburg before moving onto the Bundesliga and Premier League as well. That includes stars like Sadio Mane, Erling Haaland, Dayot Upamecano and Naby Keita.

Soccer Betting News

FC Red Bull Salzburg Team Records

As of 2022, FC Salzburg have won nine of the last 11 Austrian Cups, having never won the tournament before 2012. Their dominance in the Austrian Bundesliga nearly mirrors Bayern Munich’s dominance of the German Bundesliga. FC Salzburg have won nine consecutive Austrian Bundesliga titles, and have been mainstays in European competition.

In 2021-22, FC Salzburg defied the Champions League odds and made the knockout stage for the first time. Red Bull Salzburg managed a historic draw vs. Bayern in the first leg, but ultimately the Bavarians were too much to handle. The upcoming 2022-23 UCL season marks their fourth consecutive appearance in the Champions League, though.

Betting advice usually dissuades prospective bettors from taking any team other than FC Salzburg to win the Austrian Bundesliga. Still, former key players Karim Adeyemi and Brenden Aaronson have transferred away in the offseason.

FC Red Bull Salzburg FAQs

How Many Austrian Bundesliga Championships Have FC Red Bull Salzburg Won in a Row?

As of 2022, Red Bull Salzburg have won the Austrian Bundesliga nine consecutive times.

Have FC Red Bull Salzburg Ever Played in a European Final?

Yes, when they were still called SV Austria Salzburg, they made the 1993-94 UEFA Cup final. They lost to Inter Milan 1-0 in both legs of the final.

When Was the Last Time Red Bull Salzburg Made It Out of Their Champions League Group?

Red Bull Salzburg made it to the knockout stage of the Champions League for the first time in 2021-22. They finished in second place in Group G, but lost to Bayern Munich 8-2 in the round of 16.

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks