Montpellier Herault SC Betting Stats

Montpellier Stats
Montpellier Herault SC

General Information


Stade de la Mosson


Championships: 2012

Coupe de France: 1929, 1990

UEFA: Intertoto Cup: 1999

Coupe de la Ligue: 1992



Montpellier Herault SC & History

Community members in Montpellier created an all-sports club called the Stade Olympique Montpelliérain in 1919. Straight away, SOM merged with La Vie au Grand Air du Languedoc, which improved the soccer team a great deal. The first major trophy in the Montpellier team stats comes from 1929. They made a run to the Coupe de France final, and defeated regional rivals FC Sete 2-0.

Montpellier once again reached the final in 1931, but fell 3-0 this time around. In 1932, La Paillade became one of the founding members of the first division of French soccer. In the inaugural season, Montpellier finished fourth.

The club then suffered a rapid descent, as they were relegated in 1936 and heavily in debt by 1937. So, the club was dissolved and later reinstated. In the 1945-46 season, Montpellier won the second division, and returned to the top flight.

In the 1950s and 60s, Montpellier went through a cycle of relegations and promotions. They struggled heavily in the mid-50s, conceding more than 70 goals from 1954 to 1958. Montpellier lost their professional status in 1969 and started playing in the French amateur championship.

Ligue 1 - Betting News

Montpellier Herault SC Team Records

Starting in 1975, Montpellier managed to climb from the fourth division to Ligue 1 in just five years. In 1989, the club was renamed the current Montpellier Herault Sport Club. With players like Laurent Blanc, Eric Cantona, and Carlos Valderrama, Montpellier wrote an important chapter in the their stats in 1990. Ending a 61-year trophy drought, Montpellier won the Coupe de France.

They reached the quarterfinals of the Cup Winners’ Cup the following season, but fell to Manchester United. Then, La Paillade won their first Coupe de la Ligue in 1992. Montpellier regularly played in European competitions during this time, and even won the 1999 UEFA Intertoto Cup.

Montpellier completely defied the Ligue 1 odds in 2012, and won their first-and-only top-tier league title. Olivier Giroud was the top scorer in the league, with 21 goals. Giroud departed and the team declined, but has retained their Ligue 1 status. From 2018 to 2021, Montpellier managed four straight top-half finishes.

La Paillade have conceded over 60 league goals in each of the last two seasons. Because Montpellier are typically a high-scoring team themselves, betting advice suggests being conscious of team totals in their matches.


When Did Montpellier Win the Ligue 1 Title?

Montpellier Herault SC won their first and only Ligue 1 title in the 2011-12 season. Olivier Giroud scored 21 goals to lead the league in scoring.

Which Player Has Made the Most All-Time Appearances for Montpellier?

Senegalese forward Souleymane Camara played for Montpellier 433 times and scored 76 times for the club. Camara is Montpellier’s all-time appearances leader.

Who Are the Most Famous Players in Montpellier’s History?

Laurent Blanc, Roger Milla, Olivier Giroud, Eric Cantona, and Carlos Valderrama have all played for Montpellier. They are five of the most famous La Paillade players of all time.

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks