SV Werder Bremen Betting Stats

Werder Bremen Stats
SV Werder Bremen

General Information




Championships: 1965, 1988, 1993, 2004

DFB-Pokal: 1961, 1991, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009


  • Cup Winners’ Cup: 1992
  • Intertoto Cup: 1998



SV Werder Bremen Stats & History

One of the more quirky club origins, a group of 16-year olds who won a Tug of War tournament founded FV Werder Bremen in 1899. Their prize for winning the tournament was a soccer ball, so it was only natural. They did well in the local league in their first few seasons as a club and gained popularity city-wide.

In 1920, they took on their current name, Sportverein Werder Bremen, or SV Werder Bremen. The growth of the club led to the addition of sports like baseball, cricket and even chess. During the Nazi era, the club played in the reorganized Gauliga Niedersachsen. They won the league title in 1934, 1936, 1937 and 1942.

They managed to add their first major trophy, the DFB-Pokal, to the SV Werder Bremen stats in 1961. Werder Bremen were one of the 16 founding clubs of the original Bundesliga in 1963. In the second-ever Bundesliga season, they won their first title. They also finished in second place in 1967-68 but declined over the next 12 years.

Then, in 1980, Werder Bremen were relegated to the 2. Bundesliga for the first time. On their first attempt, they won the 2. Bundesliga and returned to the top tier. Werder Bremen managed second place finishes in 1982-83, 1984-85 and 1985-86. After knocking on the door of a title for a number of years, they won the Bundesliga in 1988.

Bundesliga - Betting News

SV Werder Bremen Team Records

The 1990s were the best period in Werder Bremen’s history. In 1991, they added the first DFB-Pokal trophy to the SV Werder Bremen team stats for thirty years. In 1992, they won the European Cup Winners’ Cup by defeating AS Monaco in the final. They also went on to win more European silverware in 1998, when they won the Intertoto Cup. Werder Bremen went on to win the Bundesliga in 1993 and the DFB-Pokal in 1994 and 1999.

Werder Bremen found more success in the 2000s as they managed their first league/DFB-Pokal double in 2004. Their most recent major trophy was a DFB-Pokal triumph in 2009. However, in 2020-21, they were relegated to the 2. Bundesliga for the first time since 1980. With a second place finish, they returned to the top tier after one season in 2022.

Like fellow promoted club, Schalke 04, Werder Bremen are priced at +175 Bundesliga odds to get relegated in 2022-23. Betting advice should note that Werder Bremen haven’t finished higher than eighth in the Bundesliga since the 2009-10 season.


How did Werder Bremen return to the Bundesliga in 2022?

Werder Bremen spent just one season in the 2. Bundesliga as they finished in second place in 2021-22 and earned promotion back to the Bundesliga.

How many times have Werder Bremen won the Bundesliga?

Werder Bremen are one of the most successful German clubs as they’ve won the Bundesliga four times. Most recently, Werder won in the 2003-04 season as Ailton led the league with 28 goals.

When was the last time Werder Bremen made the top four in the Bundesliga?

Werder Bremen have declined in recent seasons after making the top four in six of seven seasons from 2003-04 to 2009-10. The 2009-10 season was the last time Werder Bremen finished in the top four.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks