VfB Stuttgart Betting Stats

VfB Stuttgart
VfB Stuttgart

General Information


Mercedes-Benz Arena


Championships: 1950, 1952, 1984, 1992, 2007
DFB-Pokal: 1954, 1958, 1997


  • Intertoto Cup: 2000, 2002



VfB Stuttgart Stats & History

Stuttgarter FV and Kronen-Club Cannstatt merged in 1912 to form Verein für Bewegungsspiele Stuttgart. Early on, Stuttgart played in the Bezirksliga Württemberg-Baden and won a championship in 1927. In 1933, they moved to Neckar Stadium, which is now named the Mercedes-Benz Arena.

After the reorganization of German soccer, Stuttgart played in the Gauliga Württemberg and found success there. They won their division in 1935, 1937, 1938, 1940, and 1943. In 1935, Stuttgart advanced to the national final but lost 6-4 to Schalke 04.

After WWII, German soccer went through another restructuring. Stuttgart played in the Oberliga Sud and won titles in 1946, 1952 and 1954. The first major championship in the Stuttgart team stats is their national title in 1950. The 50s proved to be one of the best decades for Stuttgart. They won another German championship in 1952 and scored DFB-Pokal wins in 1954 and 1958.

Bundesliga - Betting News

VfB Stuttgart Team Records

VfB Stuttgart was a founding member of the Bundesliga in 1963 but was frequently a mid-table club. Stuttgart reached the UEFA Cup semifinals in 1974 but was relegated just a year later. They spent just two seasons in the 2. Bundesliga registered 100 goals in the VfB Stuttgart team stats in 1976-77.

Under Helmut Benthaus, Stuttgart won their first Bundesliga trophy in 1984. They went on to make the 1989 UEFA Cup final but lost to Diego Maradona’s Napoli. In 1991-92, Stuttgart squeaked by Borussia Dortmund on goal difference to win the Bundesliga again.

Their next trophy was the 1997 DFB-Pokal, which meant they qualified for the 1997-98 European Cup Winners’ Cup. They made it to the final of the competition but lost to Chelsea. VfB Stuttgart managed to win the UEFA Intertoto Cup in both 2000 and 2002.

Against the Bundesliga odds, Stuttgart won the 2006-07 title, which remains their last major trophy. In the 2010s, they were relegated and promoted a couple of times and have been a mid-table side at best since.

In 2021-22, Stuttgart was very nearly relegated, finishing 15th of 18 teams in the Bundesliga. Sasa Kalajdzic was their leading scorer, despite playing just 15 of 34 matches. Betting advice suggests Stuttgart could be in trouble in 2022-23 without an uptick in road form. They won just one match and gained 11 points away from home last season.


Who was Stuttgart’s leading scorer in the 2021-22 Bundesliga season?

6’7” Austrian striker Sasa Kalajdzic was Stuttgart’s leading scorer in 2021-22 with six goals despite playing in just 15 matches.

How many times have VfB Stuttgart won the Bundesliga?

VfB Stuttgart have won the Bundesliga on three occasions and previously won the German Championship twice. Stuttgart most recently were Bundesliga champions after the 2006-07 season.

When was the last time Stuttgart played in a UEFA competition?

Stuttgart are nearing ten years without any European football. They last played in the 2013-14 Europa League, in which they lost in the Play-off round.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks