Mexico national football team
Mexico National Football Team

World Cup Participation

1930, 1950, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1978, 1986, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018, 2022



Team Information

Mexico National Football Team History

Mexico’s first international was against Guatemala in 1923, and the match finished in a 3-2 Mexico victory. Afterward, in 1930, El Tri took part in the first ever World Cup match against France, but it finished in a 4-1 defeat for Mexico. Mexico’s FIFA World Cup appearance was cut short, as they went on to lose all three of their matches. They didn’t play in another World Cup until 1950.

The 50s: Off to a Bad Start

They also lost all three games at that tournament and lost their first nine FIFA World Cup matches. It wasn’t until 1962 that Mexico’s first World Cup win came over Czechoslovakia, but they failed to make it out of the group stage once again.

In 1965, Mexico National football team won the CONCACAF Championship and they hosted the World Cup in 1970. There, they advanced out of the FIFA World Cup group stage for the first time, since goalkeeper Antonio Carbajal became the first player to play in five World Cups. Mexico lost to Italy 4-1 in the quarterfinals.

Mexico failed to qualify for the 1974 World Cup and dropped all three of their matches at the 1978 World Cup in Argentina. Mexico also failed to qualify in 1982 but hosted the 1986 World Cup.

FIFA World Cup - Betting News

The Mexico National football team finished on top of Group B in ’86 and defeated Bulgaria in the round of 16, marking their first knockout-stage win at a World Cup. They were defeated by West Germany in the quarterfinals on penalties.

Banned From 1990 World Cup

For using players over the age limit at FIFA Youth Championship qualifiers, Mexico were banned from the 1990 World Cup. In 1993, Mexico were invitees to the Copa America and made the final, where they lost to Argentina.

At the 1994 World Cup in the USA, Bulgaria beat Mexico in the round of 16. Mexico were eliminated in the same round by Germany in 1998. El Tri won their first FIFA trophy by defeating Brazil in the 1999 Confederations Cup final.

Losing to rivals USA 2-0 in the 2002 World Cup round of 16, Mexico were eliminated. They were again eliminated at the same stage by Argentina in both 2006 and 2010.

Mexico’s Best Wins: 2018 World Cup

Goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa was outstanding during the 2014 World Cup but Mexico were eventually eliminated by the Netherlands in the round of 16. El Tri both made and were eliminated in their seventh consecutive round of 16 in 2018 by Brazil. On a side note, one of Mexico’s best World Cup wins came during that tournament as they beat defending World Cup champions Germany, 1-0.

In 2019, Mexico won their 11th Gold Cup/CONCACAF Championship. They’re the winningest team in the competition’s history.

Check out the latest FIFA World Cup news and betting analysis.

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks