FC Porto Betting Stats

FC Porto Betting Stats
FC Porto

General Information


Estadio do Dragao


Championships: 1939, 1940, 1956, 1959, 1978, 1979, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2018, 2020, 2022

Taça de Portugal:1956, 1958, 1968, 1977, 1984, 1988, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2020, 2022

Campeonato de Portugal: 1922, 1925, 1932, 1937


  • European Cup/Champions League: 1987, 2004
  • UEFA Cup/Europa League: 2003, 2011



FC Porto Stats & History

António Nicolau de Almeida, a Port wine merchant, founded FC Porto in 1893 after a trip to England. The first Portuguese national soccer competition, the Campeonato de Portugal, was created in 1921-22. FC Porto, by defeating Sporting CP, became the first-ever national champions.

They faced tough competition over the next fifteen years and only won it three more times, despite dominance in their region. The Primeira Liga ended up taking the place of the Campeonato in 1938. With four Campeonato titles in the FC Porto stats, they were the joint-winningest team in the competition’s history.

In the new round-robin league format, FC Porto were the inaugural winners. Porto defended their title successfully in 1940 but faced a lengthy trophy drought afterward. After 16 years without a major trophy, Porto won the league and Taca de Portugal double in 1956. Before the end of the decade, they also added another league and Taca de Portugal trophy to the FC Porto stats.

The 1960s and most of the 70s were forgettable for Porto. From 1960 to 1977, their only trophy was the 1968 Taca de Portugal. Cup-winning coach Jose Maria Pedroto returned in 1976, which kicked off Porto’s dominance of Portuguese soccer. Since winning the 1977 Taca de Portugal, Porto have never gone longer than five years without a trophy. They also won the league in back-to-back seasons in 1978 and 1979.

FC Porto Betting News

FC Porto Team Records

In the ’80s, Porto gained international recognition. They won back-to-back Primeira Liga titles in 1985 and 1986 and both qualified them for the European Cup. In the 1986-87 European Cup, Porto completed an incredible late comeback win over Bayern Munich in the final. They’re one of only two Portuguese soccer teams to ever win the European Cup/Champions League or UEFA/Europa League. They won the UEFA Cup in 2003 and the Champions League again in 2004, under Jose Mourinho.

After the 1988-1989 season, Porto have won an incredible 20 of the last 33 Primeira Liga titles, as of 2022. Champions League odds usually price them as a knockout stage candidate. Betting advice recommends taking a look at FC Porto at home. They’ve lost just two Primeira Liga matches at the Estadio do Dragao in the last couple of seasons.


FC Porto FAQs

Have FC Porto Ever Won the Champions League?

Yes, FC Porto have won the Champions League/European Cup twice. They defeated Monaco 3-0 in 2004 under Jose Mourinho and beat Bayern Munich 2-1 in 1987.

Who Is FC Porto’s Leading Scorer in UEFA Competitions?

Radamel Falcao is FC Porto’s leading scorer in European competitions with an impressive record of 22 goals in 24 matches.

Which FC Porto Players Have Won the European Golden Shoe Award?

Fernando Gomes and Mario Jardel are the two FC Porto players to win the European Golden Shoe. Gomes won the award in both 1985 and 1987, while Jardel won in 1999.

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks