SL Benfica Betting Stats

SL Benfica Stats
Sporting Lisboa Benfica

General Information


Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica


Championships: 1936, 1937, 1938, 1942, 1943, 1945, 1950, 1955, 1957, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1994, 2005, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019

Taça de Portugal: 1940, 1943, 1944, 1949, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1962, 1964, 1969, 1970, 1972, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1993, 1996, 2004, 2014, 2017


  • European Cup/Champions League: 1961, 1962

Taça da Liga: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016

Campeonato de Portugal: 1930, 1931, 1935



SL Benfica Stats & History

Sport Lisboa was created in 1904 and played their first-ever match in 1905. In 1907, a handful of their players moved to fellow Lisbon club Sporting CP which kicked off a bitter rivalry. One year later, Sport Lisboa merged with Grupo Sport Benfica and adopted the name Sport Lisboa e Benfica.

Before the creation of a nationwide Portuguese soccer league, Benfica won nine regional titles. They also won the Campeonato de Portugal on three separate occasions. In the first-ever Primeira Liga season, in 1934-35, Benfica finished third. Over the next few seasons, they added three straight Portuguese soccer league titles to the SL Benfica stats.

Benfica continued to find success in the 1940s, since they won three league titles and four Taca de Portugal trophies. In 1943, Benfica managed to win their first domestic double. The club was even more successful in the 50s, with three more league titles and six Taca de Portugal wins.

SL BenficaBetting News

SL Benfica Team Records

The best-ever period in the SL Benfica stats was in the 1960s, though. Led by legendary striker Eusebio, Benfica won back-to-back European Cups in 1961 and 1962. Eusebio became the first and only player to win the Ballon d’Or playing for a Portuguese soccer club in 1965. SL Benfica also reached three more European Cup finals in the 1960s and won eight more league titles.

In the 1972-73 season, Benfica became the first Portuguese club to win the league without losing. They put together an incredible 56-match unbeaten run in the league from October 1976 to September 1978. They also reached two more European Cup finals in 1988 and 1990, but lost both. They had their longest-ever trophy drought from 1996 to 2004, but they have bounced back to remain one of Portugal’s best teams.

In fact, Benfica have the most trophies of any Portuguese soccer club and have the Primeira Liga a record 37 Primeira-Liga times. Their 26 Taca-de-Portugal triumphs are also a record. Betting advice often considers Benfica ATS, as they’ve finished with a +40 or better goal difference in nine straight Primeira Liga seasons. As of August, the Champions League odds price Benfica as heavy favorites to defeat FC Midtjylland in their third-round qualifier.


SL Benfica FAQs

Which European Record Does S.L. Benfica Hold?

Benfica have the European record for most consecutive wins in their domestic league. They won 29 consecutive games and became the first undefeated champions of Portugal in 1972-73.

Did Benfica Ever Win the European Cup?

Benfica won back-to-back European Cups in 1961 and 1962 to become the first Portuguese soccer champions of the competition.

Is Benfica the Most Successful Club in Portugal?

Benfica have won more trophies than any other Portuguese club and are the most decorated Portuguese soccer team of all time.

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks