Galatasaray Betting Stats

Galatasaray Stats
Galatasaray SK

General Information



Nef Stadium


Championships: 1962, 1963, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019

Turkish Cup: 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1973, 1976, 1982, 1985, 1991, 1993, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019

UEFA: UEFA Cup/Europa League: 2000



Galatasaray Stats & History

Students of Galatasaray High School in Istanbul founded Galatasaray SK in 1905. They quickly joined the Istanbul Football League, although no other Turkish soccer teams were in the league during that time. Due to the strict Ottoman rule, the rest of the teams consisted of English and Greek teams. Regardless, Galatasaray won the 1908-09 Istanbul Football League season championship.

With more Turkish soccer teams in the league, they added ten more Istanbul Football League titles to the Galatasaray SK stats until 1952. The Istanbul Professional League bridged the gap between the end of the amateur Istanbul Football League and the professional Turkish league. Galatasaray won three of the seven Istanbul Professional League championships from 1952 to 1959.

Galatasaray became a founding member of what’s now known as the Turkish Super Lig, in 1959. They finished second in their first Super Lig season and first won the title in 1961-62. The next season, Galatasaray repeated as champions and won their first Turkish Cup title. That kicked off a run of four consecutive Turkish Cups in the Galatasaray SK stats. They also made the quarterfinals of the European Cup in 1962-63.

Galatasaray SK Betting News

Galatasaray SK Team Records

The club continued to be one of the best in Turkey throughout the 1970s and 80s. In the 1988-89 season, Galatasaray became the first Turkish club to make the semifinals of the European Cup. The 1999-2000 season is undoubtedly the best in team history. Galatasaray completed another domestic double and tasted European glory.

Galatasaray drew with Arsenal 0-0 in the 2000 UEFA Cup final and it stayed scoreless throughout extra time. With a 4-1 penalty shootout victory, Galatasaray won their first European trophy. Galatasaray are still the only Turkish team to win a major UEFA competition. They also defeated Real Madrid in the 2000 UEFA Super Cup, since Mario Jardel scored a double.

Defying the Europa League odds, Galatasaray finished on top of a group with Marseille and Lazio in 2021-22. Barcelona eliminated Galatasaray in the round of 16, though. Betting advice warns prospective bettors about their struggles in 2021-22. Galatasaray finished 13th last season, which was their worst Super Lig season in history.

Galatasaray FAQs

When Was Galatasaray’s Worst-Ever Season in the Turkish Super Lig?

Galatasaray’s worst season in club history was recent. They finished in the worst-ever 13th place in the Turkish Super Lig in 2021-22, amid financial struggles.

How Many Turkish Teams Have Won More Trophies Than Galatasaray S.K.?

None. Istanbul-based Galatasaray have won more trophies than any other Turkish club. That includes 22 Super Ligs, 18 Turkish Cups and 16 Turkish Super Cups, which are all records.

When Did Galatasaray Win a UEFA Trophy?

Galatasaray won the UEFA Cup in 2000 by defeating Arsenal in penalties. Galatasaray also went on to win the 2000 UEFA Super Cup over Spanish giants Real Madrid.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks