DC United Betting Stats

DC United Betting Stats
DC United

General Information

Washington, D.C.

Audi Field


Championships: 1996, 1997, 1999, 2004

U. S Open Cup: 1996, 2008, 2013


  • Champions Cup: 1998
  • Supporters’ Shield: 1997, 1999, 2006, 2007
  • Copa Interamericana: 1998



DC United Stats & History

D.C. United was one of the original MLS participants in 1996. Under Bruce Arena, D.C. had one of its best-ever seasons in 1996. They completed the MLS Cup and U.S. Open Cup double, the first of its kind.

Another kind of double was registered in D.C. United team stats in 1997. They became the first team to win both the MLS Cup and the Supporters’ Shield in the same season. One year later, D.C. United had a frustrating season domestically but swept the international competitions they played in. They were runners-up for the Supporters’ Shield and in the MLS Cup Playoffs; however, they defeated Toluca in the CONCACAF Champions Cup and Vasco da Gama in the Copa Interamericana.

Arena left after the 1998 season to coach the US national team but D.C. continued its winning ways. They won the MLS Cup final and Supporters’ Shield in 1999 to make it four consecutive seasons with a trophy. Roy Lassiter topped D.C. United team stats and was the MLS Golden Boot winner.

MLS - Betting News

DC United Team Records

The team declined over the next few seasons, failing to make the playoffs from 2000 to 2002. Their misery was short-lived under head coach Piotr Nowak. In the 2004 season, Freddy Adu became the youngest player in American pro sports for at least 100 years. Forward Alecko Eskandarian was also a stand-out. D.C. defeated the Kansas City Wizards 3-2 in the MLS Cup final to win their fourth league title.

In 2006, D.C. United won their third Supporters’ Shield. Before the 2007 season, Nowak left to become an assistant coach of the USMNT. Under Tom Soehn, D.C. won the 2007 Supporters’ Shield and the 2008 U.S. Open Cup. The team missed the playoffs from 2008 to 2011, though.

Even when they won their most recent trophy, the U.S. Open Cup in 2013, D.C. United finished last place in the league. The 2018 signing of Manchester United legend Wayne Rooney generated a lot of excitement but the team was mediocre. Rooney was their leading scorer in 2018 and 2019 but they were bounced out in the first round both times. Rooney returned in 2022 to become D.C. United’s coach.

Midway through the 2022 season, the MLS odds priced D.C. United is the least likely team to win the MLS Cup. With a midseason coaching change, most betting advice advises against relying on them too heavily.


Did D.C. United win the first MLS Cup?

Yes, D.C. United were the first MLS Cup playoff champions, in 1996. They defeated LA Galaxy 3-2 on an extra-time golden goal.

Which D.C. United players have won the MLS Golden Boot?

Two D.C. United players have won the MLS Golden Boot. Luciano Emilio scored 20 goals in 2007 to lead the league, while Dwayne de Rosario won the award in 2011.

How many times have D.C. United won the MLS Cup?

DC United are four-time MLS Cup champions. They won back-to-back titles in 1996 and 1997. Their other titles came in 1999 and 2004.
Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks