Portland Timbers Betting Stats

Portland Timbers Betting Stats
Portland Timbers

General Information


Providence Park


Championships: 2015

U. S Open Cup: N/A

MLS is Back Tournament: 2020



Portland Timbers Stats & History

The Portland Timbers got their start as an expansion team in the heyday of the North American Soccer League. In their first-ever season, they finished in first place in their division and had the league’s best record overall. They even made the 1975 Soccer Bowl, the NASL final. However, they lost to the Tampa Bay Rowdies 2-0.

Their first season in the NASL was their best as they only made two more playoff appearances in the next seven seasons. The club folded in 1983 and returned in 1985, as F.C. Portland, in the Western Soccer Alliance League. Again, the club folded in 1990 but the Timbers returned and started playing in the USL in 2001. 

MLS announced that the Portland Timbers would be the 18th team in the league in 2009. They commenced play in 2011 but failed to qualify for the playoffs in their first two seasons. Miraculously, they came in first place in the Western Conference in 2013 under new head coach Caleb Porter. With their first appearance in the playoffs cemented in the Portland Timbers team stats, they made the Western Conference final.

Their first continental tournament appearance was the 2014-15 CONCACAF Champions League. With the duo of Fanendo Adi and Diego Valeri, Portland had a solid regular season in 2015. They finished third in a highly competitive Western Conference and played in a thrilling first-round playoff match.

MLS - Betting News

Portland Timbers Team Records

Against Kansas City, Portland led 1-0 but Sporting tied the match in the dying embers. Then, Portland got a late equalizer in extra time to send the match into penalties. The shootout went to 11 kicks and Portland keeper Adam Larsen Kwarasey scored and saved the last kick to advance. Portland then knocked off Pacific Northwest rivals Vancouver 2-0 in the Conference Semifinals. In their first-ever Conference final appearance, Portland defeated FC Dallas over two legs. 

With a 2-1 win over Columbus Crew, the first MLS Cup trophy in the Timbers team stats was won. Portland disappointingly missed out on the playoffs in 2016 but Diego Valeri won the MLS MVP award in 2017. Portland has gotten close to winning the MLS Cup again on two other occasions, as they were MLS Cup finalists in 2018 and 2021. 

The most recent Timbers trophy is a triumph in the MLS is Back tournament in 2020 during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic. The MLS odds listed Portland at +4000 to win the 2022 title in late July. Betting advice identified Portland as a rising team as they were on a seven-game unbeaten streak as of July 26.


Did the Timbers win the 2020 MLS Cup?

Portland Timbers won the standalone 2020 MLS is Back tournament but they did not win the 2020 MLS Cup. They lost in the first round of the MLS Cup playoffs in 2020.

When were the Portland Timbers founded?

The Timbers date back to 1975 when they played in the NASL. The club has existed in various iterations since then but started playing in MLS in 2011.

Have the Portland Timbers ever won the MLS Cup?

Yes, Portland Timbers won the MLS Cup in 2015 by defeating the Columbus Crew 2-1. It’s the first and only title in Timbers history.
Back to top button






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks