San Jose Earthquakes Betting Stats

San Jose Earthquakes Betting Stats
San Jose Earthquakes

General Information

San Jose

PayPal Park


Championships: 2001, 2003

U. S Open Cup: N/A


MLS Supporters’ Shield: 2005, 2012



San Jose Earthquakes Stats & History

Originally called the San Jose Clash, the Earthquakes were one of the ten original MLS teams. San Jose defeated D.C. United 1-0 in the first match in MLS history. They made the playoffs in 1996 but the team quickly declined. 

San Jose missed out on the playoffs in four consecutive seasons from 1997 to 2000. In 1999, the Clash name was changed to the current Earthquakes. The Quakes had an unprecedented turnaround in 2001. They had the worst record in MLS in 2000 but finished second in the Western Conference in 2001. They managed their first MLS Cup final appearance in the San Jose Earthquakes team stats and defeated rivals L.A. Galaxy, 2-1. 

The Earthquakes appeared in the CONCACAF Champions Cup for the first time in 2001 and made the quarterfinals. They finished second in the West once again in 2002 but failed to defend their title. However, Landon Donovan played a starring role in 2003 as they won their second MLS Cup final. 

The 2005 season was one of the best regular season performances in team history. With the league’s best record, they won the first Supporters’ Shield in the SJ Earthquakes team stats. After the 2005 season, the Quakes moved to Houston and became the Dynamo but their records weren’t transferred. So, the club was on hiatus until 2008 and they missed the playoffs in their first two seasons back.

MLS - Betting News

San Jose Earthquakes Team Records

Chris Wondolowski won the first MLS Golden Boot in team history as the Earthquakes made the Conference FInal in 2010. Wondolowski won the league’s MVP award and Golden Boot in 2012 as the Quakes won another Supporters’ Shield. After the best regular season in team history, the club declined. 

The Earthquakes missed the playoffs in six of the next seven seasons and finished with the league’s worst record in 2018. Notably, they did reach the U.S. Open Cup semifinal for the second time in team history, in 2017. Wondolowski hung up his boots in 2021 and retired as the top scorer in MLS history. 

Midway through the 2022 season, San Jose had one of the league’s worst records. Through 21 matches, they were eight points out of playoff position and had longshot +10000 MLS odds to win the title. Betting advice recommends avoiding taking the Quakes on the road. Through 11 road matches, they had earned just six points away from home.


How long were the San Jose Earthquakes on hiatus?

The Earthquakes moved to Houston in 2006 and rebranded as the Houston Dynamo. The Earthquakes returned in 2008 after a two-year hiatus.

Have any San Jose Earthquakes players won the MLS MVP Award?

Chris Wondolowski won the 2012 Landon Donovan MLS MVP Award while playing for the San Jose Earthquakes. He’s the only player to win the award as a member of the Earthquakes.

How many major trophies have the San Jose Earthquakes won?

The San Jose Earthquakes have won the MLS Cup and Supporters’ Shield on two occasions each. They won the MLS Cup in 2001 and 2003 and the Supporters’ Shield in 2005 and 2012.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks