IndyCar Standings

The IndyCar standings play an integral role during the sport’s season. While the winner of an IndyCar race takes home $30,000 on average, it’s the points from winning the race the drivers are really after.

Throughout the season, the IndyCar driver standings are likely to change. Whether it’s a close competition at the top to decide who will take the championship at the end of the season, or jockeying for position in the middle of the standings, you can almost count on movement.

2022 Championship – IndyCar Standings
1Will PowerPenske560
2Josef NewgardenPenske544
3Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing521
4Scott McLaughlin & Alex PalouPenske & Chip Ganassi Racing510
5Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing506
6Pato O’WardMcLaren480
7Felix RosenqvistMcLaren393
8Alexander Rossi & Colton HertaAndretti Autosport 381
9Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing345
10Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing331
11Romain GrosjeanAndretti Autosport328
12Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing323
13Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank Racing314
14David MalukasDale Coyne Racing305
15Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing267
16Helio CastronevesPenske263
17Takuma SatoCoyne Racing258
18Callum IlottJuncos Hollinger Racing219
19Jimmie JohnsonTarget Chip Ganassi Racing214
20Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing209
21Devlin DeFrancescoAndretti Autosport206
22Kyle KirkwoodA.J. Foyt Enterprises183
23Dalton KellettA.J. Foyt Enterprises133
24Tony KanaanPenske78
25Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing75
26Santino FerrucciRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing71
27Tatiana CalderonA.J. Foyt Enterprises58
28Juan Pablo MontoyaA.J. Foyt Enterprises44
29Simona De SilvestroParetta Autosport34
30Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport17
31Sage KaramEric DeBord14
32Stefan WilsonAndretti Autosport10

IndyCar Season Explained

The winner of each race will receive 50 points. Second place received 40 points and third 35 points to the IndyCar series standings. Fourth is awarded 32 points.

Fifth through 10th decrease by two points. Eleventh place through the last car each receive one point less than the finishing spot directly in front of them.

Drivers can also get points for winning the pole position. The driver who leads the most laps during the race receives two points.

The Indy 500 is the most famous race on the IndyCar schedule. Not only are drivers competing for the biggest purse of the season (Marcus Ericsson took home $3.1 million after winning the 2022 Indy 500) but all points earned are doubled.

Extra points are awarded to the top-nine qualifiers at the Indy 500, while the pole-sitter is awarded nine additional points

IndyCar Standings FAQs

What are the points standings in IndyCar championship?

The point standings in the IndyCar Championship are the points drivers are awarded from each race tallied through the season. Whoever has the most points at the end of the season is the champion.

What does ntt stand for in IndyCar?

NTT stands for Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation.

How to watch IndyCar?

NBC has the broadcasting rights to the IndyCar series. The network makes the decision whether the race will be on its prime channel or on a NBC affiliate like USA Network.

How does a driver win the IndyCar series?

A driver can win the IndyCar series by finishing the season atop the standings with the most points.
Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks