FIFA World Cup Standings

The FIFA World Cup features 32 of the best national teams in the world, who compete in a three-game Group Stage for the right to advance to a single-elimination knockout stage. There are eight groups with four teams each and each individual group follows a round-robin format.

2022 Qatar World Cup Standings

Understanding World Cup Standings

In the group stage, FIFA World Cup standings operate as follows: Three points are awarded for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a loss. There is no extra time in any group fixture, so the result at the end of a 90-minute match plus stoppage time is final.

FIFA World Cup standings and scoresare finalized on the last match of Group Play, in which each team in a given group plays at the same time. These scenarios can open up decent opportunities for parlay betting.

At the end of the Group Stage, the team with the most points in each group advances to the Round of 16 as the group winner. The second-place teams in each group also book a place in the knockout stage as group runners-up. Meanwhile, the third- and fourth-place teams in each group are eliminated.

A tie in the standings at the end of the Group Stage is broken first by goal difference followed by goals scored. In the Round of 16, the Group A winners play the Group B runner-up and the Group B winners play the Group A runner-up, and so on.

Among other factors, knockout stage point spreads will take into account each team’s Group Stage performance. Regardless, the team that strings together four consecutive wins in the knockout stage is crowned the World Cup champion.

Check out the latest FIFA World Cup news and betting analysis.

World Cup Fun Facts

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks