Qatar national football team
Qatar National Football Team

National Team Information

General Info

AFC (Asia)

The Maroon

World Cup Participation




Qatar Game's Schedule

Qatar vs Ecuador Date: November, 21st | Stadium: Al Bay, Al Khor | Time: 11:00 a.m.
Qatar vs Senegal | Date: November, 25th | Stadium: Al Thumama, Al Khor | Time: 8:00 a.m.
Netherlands vs Qatar | Date: November, 29th | Stadium: Al Bayt, Al Khor | Time: 10:00 a.m.

Qatar National Football Team History

Qatar is relatively new to the international soccer scene, since the Qatar Football Federation wasn’t established until 1960. The federation joined FIFA in 1970, and the Qatar national football team dropped its first international 2-1 to Bahrain.

The Maroon won their first match four years later with a 4-0 win over Oman in the Gulf Cup. The Qatar national football team finished in third place, which was their best showing in the Gulf Cup until 1984. They took Iraq to extra time and penalties in the final but fell 4-3 in the latter.

One of Qatar’s most impressive wins came in the 1988 Asian Cup as it defeated Japan by a 3-0 scoreline. Defender Adel Khamis scored a double in the match, but hosts Qatar national football team finished third out of five in their group.

The 1990s marked the best period for the national team up to that point. The Maroon finished atop their group in the first round of 1990 World Cup qualifying; however, they finished below the UAE and South Korea in the final round to miss out on the World Cup.

Qatar national football team won its first trophy in 1992; they won the Gulf Cup despite losing their last match at the competition. The Marron were also runners-up in the 1996 and 1998 editions of the tournament.

They were also one win away from qualifying for France 1998 but lost 1-0 to Saudi Arabia in their final match. After years of managing club teams in Qatar, Bosnian Džemaludin Mušović was named Qatar’s head coach in 2004, and he immediately led the Maroon to a 2004 Gulf Cup victory. 

Qatar were criticized for lax naturalization policies that allowed several Brazilian-born players to compete for the National team. As a result, FIFA tightened its eligibility restrictions for national team players. Even so, Qatar found success in the 2010s.

In 2010, Qatar were named as hosts for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, spurring a wave of investment in soccer in the country. The Qatar World Cup is to be the first in the Middle East. In 2014, the Maroon won both the WAFF Cup and the Gulf Cup. In the latter, Qatar completed a comeback win against Saudi Arabia in Riyadh to lift the trophy for a third time.

Failing to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, Qatar will become the first team, since Italy in 1934, whose first FIFA World Cup match will be on home soil; however, the Maroon made an improbable run to win the 2019 AFC Asian Cup and take home their first major international trophy.

Qatar national football team only conceded one goal throughout the whole tournament and picked up wins over powers Saudi Arabia and Japan. Almoez Ali finished the tournament as Golden Boot winner and Saad Al Sheeb was named Best GK. Qatar were invited to the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup and impressively made the semifinals. Ali was the top scorer in a second-straight major tournament.

England Flag
English Soccer

England Soccer Leagues & Clubs:

The English Premier League is the most popular soccer league in the world by viewership. It’s also the most popular league for England soccer betting. It’s a 20-team league whose season runs from August to May. The EPL follows a double-round robin format and the team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned champion. The bottom three teams in the standings are relegated to the EFL Championship at the end of the season.

The second-tier England soccer league is called the EFL Championship. The EFL Championship has 24 teams and also follows a double-round robin format. There are plenty of betting opportunities, as each team plays a whopping 46 matches. At the end of the EPL season, the top two teams are promoted to the Premier League. Teams in third to sixth place contest a playoff to determine the last promoted team. Meanwhile, the bottom three teams are relegated to the third-tier EFL League One.

EPL Teams – 2022/23 Season
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Blackpool FC
Bristol City
Burnley FC
Cardiff City
Coventry City
Huddersfield Town
Hull City
Luton Town
Norwich City FC
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Rotherham United
Sheffield United
Stoke City
Swansea City
Watford FC
West Bromwich Albion
Wigan Athletic

England Cups & Tournaments

England Soccer Betting Information

Betting on the EPL

England soccer betting is primarily done on the Premier League. As the most followed league in the world, stats, trends, betting tips and more are not hard to find. Bettors should be aware of the Premier League’s “big six” teams.

These are the teams that are powers in the league and challenging for the top four or contending for the title year after year. The big six are Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal and Tottenham.

Recently, Manchester City have dominated the Premier League. As of 2022, they’ve won four of the last five EPL titles. Spread betting on the top teams is really popular, as they often put up monstrous goal differences throughout the season. For example, Man City’s goal difference in 2021-22 was +73, which corresponds to beating their opponents by an average of 1.93 goals per game. Liverpool weren’t far behind, at +68.

England National Team Betting Tips & Odds


England soccer betting is likely to be dominated by the Premier League for years to come. The amount of money teams receive just from being in the league is enormous. That means even lower-tier teams have vast sums available to spend in the transfer market. It’s no wonder the Premier League is often touted as the best league in the world. There are a large number of betting markets available in the Premier League, which make it an attractive option.

The 2022 World Cup is a make-or-break tournament for England. They were a young team in 2018 but a lot of their stars are now in the prime of their careers. It’s unlikely Gareth Southgate will stay on as England boss unless they put in a great performance. England supporters are also getting impatient with the team, as they haven’t won a major tournament since 1966. The talent, like always, is there. Whether the results follow at Qatar 2022 is another question.

England FAQS

Is sports betting legal in England?

Sports betting is legal and incredibly popular in England.

Is in-play betting allowed in England?

Yes, live betting is a very popular method of betting in England.

Who is the Premier League’s top goal scorer all-time?

Alan Shearer scored 260 Premier League goals in his career and is currently the EPL’s all-time leading scorer.

Which English team has won the most championships?

Manchester United have been English champions a record 20 times. They won the former First Division seven times and have won the Premier League 13 times.

How many teams have won the English Premier League?

Seven different clubs have won the English Premier League since it was created in 1992. They are Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Leicester City and Blackburn Rovers.
Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks