Sporting Kansas City Betting Stats

Sporting Kansas City Betting Stats
Sporting Kansas City

General Information

Kansas City

Children’s Mercy Park


Championships: 2000, 2013

U. S Open Cup: 2004, 2012, 2015, 2017

Supporters’ Shield: 2000



Sporting Kansas City Stats & History

Lamar Hunt, now the namesake of the U.S. Open Cup, founded the Kansas City Wiz. The Wiz was one of the 10 original MLS teams that played in the inaugural 1996 season. In 1997, they changed their name to the Kansas City Wizards. They won the regular season Western Conference championship as midfielder Preki was MLS MVP.

The Wizards finished last in the Western Conference in both 1998 and 1999 but came back with a vengeance in 2000. Tony Meola set an MLS single-season record with 16 shutouts and it still stands today. Kansas City won the Supporters’ Shield by finishing with the best record in MLS. They won their first MLS Cup in team history by defeating the Chicago Fire 1-0.

In 2003, Preki became the first MLS player to win two MLS MVP awards. One year later, Kansas City reached the final of both the MLS Cup and the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. In the former, they lost 3-2 to D.C. United. However, they didn’t finish the season empty-handed as they defeated Chicago Fire in the Open Cup. The Wizards joined the Eastern Conference in 2005.

MLS - Betting News

Sporting Kansas City Team Records

The team then went through a rough patch with just two playoff appearances over the next six seasons. In 2011, Kansas City Wizards rebranded as Sporting Kansas City. The rebrand coincided with a reversal in fortunes for the club as they finished first in the Eastern Conference standings in 2011.

Sporting KC began the 2012 season with seven consecutive wins and once again finished first in the East. Jimmy Nielsen was the MLS Goalie of the Year, while Matt Besler won Defender of the Year. While they didn’t win the MLS Cup they added a U.S. Open Cup trophy to the Sporting Kansas City team stats.

In 2013, they added another trophy to the Sporting KC team stats, with an MLS Cup victory. Since rejoining the Western Conference in 2015 they’ve won two regular season conference titles. Sporting KC also won the U.S. Open Cup in 2015 and 2017.

Heading into the 2022 season, Sporting KC had qualified for the playoffs in 10 of the last 11 seasons. Early-season Sporting KC betting advice looked a lot different than mid-season recommendations though. They were in last place in the Western Conference through 20 games and their MLS odds dropped to +15000 to win the title.


Do Sporting Kansas City play in Kansas City, Missouri or Kansas City, Kansas?

Sporting Kansas City play at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City, KS. That makes them the only major professional sports team based in Kansas. The Kansas City Chiefs and Kansas City Royals both play in Kansas City, MO

What did Sporting KC used to be called?

Before they rebranded to Sporting KC, Kansas City’s MLS team was called the Kansas City Wizards.

When did Sporting KC win the MLS Cup?

Sporting Kansas City have won the MLS Cup on two occasions. Their first win was in 2000 when they were called the Kansas City Wizards. Most recently, Sporting KC beat Real Salt Lake in penalties to win the 2013 MLS Cup.
Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks