NCAAF Florida Gators

General Information

  • Conference: SEC
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Gainesville, Florida
  • Stadium: Ben Hill Griffin Stadium


  • National Championships: 3
  • Conference Titles: 8
  • Divisional Championships: 15
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 0

Past Conferences:

  • Independent (1906–1911)
  • SIAA (1912–1921)
  • SoCon (1922–1932).

Florida Gators Standigs & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Florida Gators Stats & Records

Passing Yards

  • Chris Leak: 11,213
  • Danny Wuerffel: 10,875
  • Shane Matthews: 9,287
  • Tim Tebow: 9,285
  • Rex Grossnan: 9,164

Rushing Yards

  • Errict Rhett: 4,163
  • Emmitt Smith: 3,928
  • Neal Anderson: 3,234
  • Earnest Graham: 3,085
  • Fred Taylor: 3,075

Receiving Yards

  •  Carlos Alvarez: 2,563
  •  Jabar Gaffney: 2,375
  •  Andre Caldwell: 2,349
  •  Reidel Anthony: 2,274
  •  Jack Jackson: 2,266

Florida Gators Football History

The University of Florida fielded its first team in 1906. In 1911 the Gators had their first undefeated season after finishing 5-0-1. In 1912 they joined the SIAA and finished 5-2 and accepted their first-ever bowl game bid. The Gators posted a winning record in eight of their first ten seasons.

In 1922, the Gators joined the Southern Conference. They stayed for 11 seasons finishing with another eight winning seasons before joining the Southeastern Conference.

In 1937, running back Walter Mayberry became the first Gator player to be named to the All-SEC team. From 1938-1950  the Gators had only one winning season.

Bob Woodruff was named head coach in 1950. In 1950, quarterback Haywood Sullivan became the first SEC player to throw for 1,000 yards. His stint lasted 10 seasons and he finished 53-42-6. Additionally, the Gators went 1-1 in bowl games under Woodruff. The years 1956-1960 were successful for him, as they went 23-13-4 in those seasons combined.

Three Bowl Games Won

Ray Graves took over from 1960-1969 and he made huge strides for the program. The Gators won three bowl games in Graves and placed second in their division twice. The year 1964 was special as All-American quarterback Steve Spurrier led the Gators to a Sugar Bowl win over conference rival LSU Tigers. Graves finished with an amazing 70–31–4 overall record.

Doug Dickey was named head coach in 1970 and the Gators were mostly average during his tenure. They did have a three-year stint from 1974-1976 where they posted a 25-11 record. Unfortunately, the Gators went 0-4 in bowl games under Dickey. As he resigned, the NCAA put major sanctions on the Gators program for several infractions.

Hall-of-fame coach Steve Spurrier became head coach in 1990. The Gators never won less than nine games and had an explosive offense under Spurrier, featuring two-time SEC Player of the Year Shane Matthews. The Gators won the SEC five times under Spurrier. They also went 6-4 in bowl games under him. In 1994, they were ranked first in the AP preseason poll for the first time in school history. The Gators accomplished many firsts under Spurrier. He left Florida for the Washington Commanders (formerly known as the Washington Redskins.) He finished with a 122-27-1 overall record and a dominant 82-12 conference record.

Outback Bowl Win

Urban Meyer took over from 2005-2010. The Gators hit the ground running under him and finished with nine wins and an Outback Bowl win in his first season. In 2007, the Florida Gators finished 13-1 and won the SEC championship.

They beat Ohio State 41-13 in the BCS championship win giving them their first National Championship. In 2007, all-time Gator Great Tim Tebow became the starting quarterback. They ended up going 9-4 but Tebow had a sensational season and won the Heisman. In 2008,  the Gators led by Tebow, Brandon Spikes, Percy Harvin and a host of other All-SEC players won the National Championship 24-14 over Oklahoma State Cowboys.

Meyer finished with a 65-15 record, two National Championships, two SEC championships, and 5-1 in bowl games. Will Muschamp coached the Gators from 2011-2014. His first year wasn’t nearly as successful as years before but they did finish with a winning record and a bowl win over Ohio State. In 2012, the Gators finished 11-2 and won the SEC East. His final two seasons were underwhelming and he was fired.

Dan Mullen became head coach in 2018. Mullen had a really good start. Through his first three seasons, the Gators were 29-9 and had a 2-1 bowl record. Additionally, they finished in the top 10 in his first two NCAAF seasons. In his final season, the Gators went 5-6 and he was let go.

However from 1963-1982, The Gators had 16 winning seasons.

Florida Gators FAQS

What was the highest win total in Gator history?

The Gators accumulated 13 wins to only one loss in both 2008 and 2009. 2008 ended with the Gators winning the National Championship.

What was the worst season in Gator history?

In 1979, the Gators finished 0-10-1. It was their third winless season in program history. The defense surrendered more than 200 rush yards per game.

How many bowl games have the Gators made?

The Gators have made 47 bowl games in their history. They currently have a 24-23 overall record.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can




Robot_subscription sombras
Subscribe to get
Thank you for subscribing subscribed_icon